Click here to visit the donation page | View all sponsors
  Pennock's Fiero Forum
  The Construction Zone
  Mattwa's 3.4/4T60 Project (Page 3)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

This topic is 18 pages long:  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18 
Previous Page | Next Page
next newest topic | next oldest topic
Mattwa's 3.4/4T60 Project by mattwa
Started on: 06-22-2009 12:42 AM
Replies: 687 (31568 views)
Last post by: Jason88Notchie on 04-25-2014 01:01 PM
Ditkaphile
Member

Posts: 816
From: Rockford, IL USA
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-31-2009 10:03 PM Click Here to See the Profile for DitkaphileClick Here to Email DitkaphileSend a Private Message to DitkaphileEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

My first time owning a page...woo hoo!

Great job on the cradle drop. I did my first (and only) cradle drop a couple years ago, and at the time I had never even done a tune-up on a car. Got it done with no service manual (thanks to this forum) all by myself...but it took me two WEEKS, not two days! Great job and good luck with the rest of your project!

------------------
Ninety percent of the population thinks you'd have to be crazy to own a Fiero. I'm in the other ten percent!

[This message has been edited by Ditkaphile (edited 08-31-2009).]

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post08-31-2009 10:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

How about this?

And my wiring harness is almost done.

IP: Logged

Ridgelandbaseball
Member

Posts: 383
From: North Ridgeville, Ohio USA
Registered: Aug 2009


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-01-2009 12:04 AM Click Here to See the Profile for RidgelandbaseballClick Here to Email RidgelandbaseballSend a Private Message to RidgelandbaseballEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Way to go mattwa. Soon your Fiero will be as nice as mine.

By the way to all of you on the forum. Mattwa is taking up our driveway, a lot of the garage and most all of our basement for this project. Where will it end. Oh well, he really is doing a terrific job with this whole build.

IP: Logged

mtownfiero
Member

Posts: 1779
From: Mansfield, Mass
Registered: Mar 2007


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-01-2009 12:19 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mtownfieroClick Here to Email mtownfieroSend a Private Message to mtownfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

nvm

[This message has been edited by mtownfiero (edited 09-01-2009).]

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-01-2009 01:08 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by Ridgelandbaseball:

Soon your Fiero will be as nice as mine.

Right, sure it will. At least my paint is still there.

IP: Logged

Hulki U. My-BFF
Member

Posts: 5949
From: Back home in East Berlin, PA
Registered: Apr 2008


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 247
Rate this member

Report this Post09-01-2009 09:13 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Hulki U. My-BFFClick Here to Email Hulki U. My-BFFSend a Private Message to Hulki U. My-BFFEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Matt,

You are doing a great job here. There's no replacement for paying attention to details. I keep a close eye on this thread. Good job man!

Andy

IP: Logged

BazookaFiero
Member

Posts: 1002
From: Mazeppa MN
Registered: Apr 2008


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-01-2009 01:03 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BazookaFieroClick Here to Email BazookaFieroSend a Private Message to BazookaFieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Wow, that is looking great! I'm very impressed with the amount of work you have put into the car. Hopefully in the end you will have one smoooooth runner I know how you feel about money being tight, my rebuild was not cheap either... but it sure is nice to see some good hard work being put in kudos to you

So are you planning on painting the car a shade of blue as well to match the engine?

------------------
BAZOOKAFIERO's Junk

"Shoot him, cut out his tongue, and then shoot his tongue!"

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-01-2009 02:15 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

No, car is staying Gold.

Well, honestly I'm having 2nd thoughts on all this. Yes, when I'm done, I'll have an almost brand new engine and transmission, and it will look amazing, with some mods like the 7730 Swap. That's great, except for performance addicts like me. With all the money I have spent (and still need to spend), I could have easily bought a 4.9 with it's 4T60E, cleaned it up, Paint it, thrown it in, and called it a day. More power, same or less amount of money. I could add a turbo to this 3.4, but that would add another $1000-$1500 to the total cost on this project, which by then I could do a nice 3800SC swap! If I try to sell what I have, I'll take in a major loss.

I just don't know what I do. I want to add a turbo, but that just makes a complex job even more complex. Like I would want to use my 7730 computer I have but what code mask should i use? The Turbo 3.1 one? Plus as you saw I can't weld very well.

Or I could do nothing and do what I planned to do. But I wouldn't want to put it in then change my mind later.

I'm still going to finish the project no matter what happens, so don't worry about that. It's way too late to turn around, I most likely will use the 3.4 one way or another, I'm just kinda ranting. Sorry.

[This message has been edited by mattwa (edited 09-01-2009).]

IP: Logged

BazookaFiero
Member

Posts: 1002
From: Mazeppa MN
Registered: Apr 2008


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-01-2009 03:07 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BazookaFieroClick Here to Email BazookaFieroSend a Private Message to BazookaFieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by mattwa:

No, car is staying Gold.

Well, honestly I'm having 2nd thoughts on all this. Yes, when I'm done, I'll have an almost brand new engine and transmission, and it will look amazing, with some mods like the 7730 Swap. That's great, except for performance addicts like me. With all the money I have spent (and still need to spend), I could have easily bought a 4.9 with it's 4T60E, cleaned it up, Paint it, thrown it in, and called it a day. More power, same or less amount of money. I could add a turbo to this 3.4, but that would add another $1000-$1500 to the total cost on this project, which by then I could do a nice 3800SC swap! If I try to sell what I have, I'll take in a major loss.

I just don't know what I do. I want to add a turbo, but that just makes a complex job even more complex. Like I would want to use my 7730 computer I have but what code mask should i use? The Turbo 3.1 one? Plus as you saw I can't weld very well.

Or I could do nothing and do what I planned to do. But I wouldn't want to put it in then change my mind later.

I'm still going to finish the project no matter what happens, so don't worry about that. It's way too late to turn around, I most likely will use the 3.4 one way or another, I'm just kinda ranting. Sorry.



Sorry to hear you are having frustrations. You are young, and you got a lot of time ahead of you. I would LIKE to say that there will be many opportunities for other Fieros, but unfortunately as the years go by, more Fieros go to car heaven, and I am sure 10 years from now they will be harder to find.

If I were you, I would finish this project and make her into a decent daily driver. Get her patched up and good for the road, then you need to decide is funds. You can start saving now, and in a couple years or so have enough money to do a better swap, or you can buy a whole 'nother Fiero all together, whatever suits your fancy. I dunno what kind of budget you are going with on this project, but only focus on what you can afford now.

I know how you feel, when I took out the engines for both of my Fieros, I had the urge, because I knew that I could do sooo much more. I wanted so bad to do a swap, or at least upgrade everything, but I had no cash. I had to force myself to say no.

Hope it all works out for you

Dave

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-01-2009 04:01 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

.

[This message has been edited by mattwa (edited 09-12-2009).]

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-01-2009 05:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

.

[This message has been edited by mattwa (edited 07-16-2010).]

IP: Logged

RumbleB
Member

Posts: 341
From: The Great Lakes!
Registered: Aug 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-12-2009 12:36 AM Click Here to See the Profile for RumbleBSend a Private Message to RumbleBEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I don't know about that turbo much. But I do know that a super 60 series turbo from a 2.3L Mustang will work with the V-6 Fiero.
Dennis La Grua (who is on the forum) has a website on how to do a turbo install, on the cheap. http://turbofiero.fierojoe.com/project.htm

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-12-2009 04:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Update status: waiting for money.

My dad did purchase a Turbo from E-bay. It was a turbo from a early/mid 80's Mustang, SVO, or Turbo Coupe.

IP: Logged

RumbleB
Member

Posts: 341
From: The Great Lakes!
Registered: Aug 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-13-2009 12:36 AM Click Here to See the Profile for RumbleBSend a Private Message to RumbleBEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

That would be the one!

IP: Logged

Jncomutt
Member

Posts: 8855
From: Ballertown, CT / Charlotte, NC
Registered: Apr 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 221
Rate this member

Report this Post09-13-2009 07:58 AM Click Here to See the Profile for JncomuttClick Here to Email JncomuttSend a Private Message to JncomuttEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

...Should have gone larger, imo.

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-13-2009 03:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by Jncomutt:

...Should have gone larger, imo.


Yes, But I think its worth it for $150. (including shipping from CA)

BTW, Thank you Cliff for changing the name of my thread for me!

[This message has been edited by mattwa (edited 09-13-2009).]

IP: Logged

Tony Kania
Member

Posts: 19454
From: The Inland Northwest
Registered: Dec 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 300
Rate this member

Report this Post09-13-2009 06:03 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Tony KaniaSend a Private Message to Tony KaniaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

We require pics of this new turbo.

Tony

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-13-2009 07:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by Tony Kania:

We require pics of this new turbo.

Tony


As soon as I get it, I will. It's going to be maybe another 4-5 days.

[This message has been edited by mattwa (edited 09-13-2009).]

IP: Logged

mtownfiero
Member

Posts: 1779
From: Mansfield, Mass
Registered: Mar 2007


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-13-2009 07:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mtownfieroClick Here to Email mtownfieroSend a Private Message to mtownfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

If your still wanting more power and not wanting to get into the turbo yet why not a top swap? Swap to the 3100 or 3400 heads and youll have about 185hp over 200ftlb tq. Just a thought

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-13-2009 11:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by mtownfiero:

If your still wanting more power and not wanting to get into the turbo yet why not a top swap? Swap to the 3100 or 3400 heads and youll have about 185hp over 200ftlb tq. Just a thought


Too late, already got my Turbo, and I have my wiring harness done. Plus there is more "Wow!" to a Turbo then a 3100 top end swap, and its more fun to mess with (and break things! ).

[This message has been edited by mattwa (edited 09-13-2009).]

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-14-2009 12:26 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Update for the day!
Finished POR-15ing the rear of the car. Lesson learned-DO NOT get any on your skin. Doesn't come off.



Needed to fix the Window motor on my dad's Fiero so I took off the outer door panel, it needed some other work anyway.

I also took my fender off because when my project first started, and I needed to keep a cover on it. I snapped the Antenna base off trying to remove the antenna. Rusty. so i need to replace that.

Also I removed my front bumper because 1.I want to try and fix it (doubt it..it's been hit 3 times now) 2.the energy cushion stuff was totally loose and just fell out. 3. POR-15 the rusty frame up there and 4. add fog lights (maybe).

Thats about it for today!

[This message has been edited by mattwa (edited 09-14-2009).]

IP: Logged

Fieroking
Member

Posts: 2107
From: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Registered: Jun 2002


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 76
Rate this member

Report this Post09-14-2009 09:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FierokingClick Here to visit Fieroking's HomePageClick Here to Email FierokingSend a Private Message to FierokingEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Just a word of warning! That blue wire loom you are using is NOT the High Temp used by the manufacturer. That stuff will melt very easily and make a mess of your wiring. Please be careful were you run it no ware near any heat source.

Looking Good Keep it Up

Joe Sokol

------------------
85 SE Daily driver with a 3.4 DOHC OBD II
88 Formula/GT 4.9 Allante Intake (My Baby)

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-14-2009 09:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by Fieroking:

Just a word of warning! That blue wire loom you are using is NOT the High Temp used by the manufacturer. That stuff will melt very easily and make a mess of your wiring. Please be careful were you run it no ware near any heat source.

Looking Good Keep it Up

Joe Sokol



The manufacturer of my Blue Wire Loom said it was rated to about 250F.

IP: Logged

Lilchief
Member

Posts: 1589
From: Vevay,Indiana
Registered: Feb 2004


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-14-2009 11:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LilchiefSend a Private Message to LilchiefEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

mattwa: I had the same exhaust system as you. I did some testing on it and found almost 6 lbs of back pressure. During this time I also ran a few 1/4 mile runs at the local track and managed a 15.7 with a T125/3.06. I later removed the entire exhaust system, enlarged the down pipe and stopped it just past the cat location (no cat). Back pressure dropped to less the 1 lb and the best ET was 14.9, 60' times 1.92. My 4t60 I really like but the torque convertor is entirely too tight best ET 15.1, 60' times 2.1. This was with full 3" exhaust. 2.5 is about the right size. I was planning on running nitrous so I ran 3". MPG is about 30 hwy using a 3.42 gear. Using the newer ECM should really make it a nice running ride.

------------------

85 GT 3.4
14.9 @ 90 1.9 60' Old TH125/3.06
Unknown New 4T60/3.42

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-15-2009 01:07 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

30 MPG with 3.42?? Wow, I can't wait to see what my 3.06 will do. But the Turbo might decrease that a bit.

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-15-2009 05:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Today I POR-15'ed the Front frame, looks a lot better now! I also remounted my "Ah OOO Gah" Horn because I didn't like it where it was. By the way, it was Hilarious seeing peoples faces when i set it off while driving by.

[This message has been edited by mattwa (edited 09-15-2009).]

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-16-2009 09:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Guess what came in the mail today?


IP: Logged

kyunderdawg
Member

Posts: 4373
From: Bowling Green, KY. USA
Registered: Aug 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 64
Rate this member

Report this Post09-16-2009 10:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kyunderdawgSend a Private Message to kyunderdawgEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

New hairdryer?

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-16-2009 11:30 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by kyunderdawg:

New hairdryer?


Bit Heavy for a hairdryer.

It does not seem to have much play side to side or up and down. But I thought these turbo's came with internal wastegates?

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-17-2009 12:05 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I do have a question. How do I connect the exhaust the the exhaust outlet? It's just round..no bolt holes or anything! Same with the intake, do i use clamps or what?

IP: Logged

Jncomutt
Member

Posts: 8855
From: Ballertown, CT / Charlotte, NC
Registered: Apr 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 221
Rate this member

Report this Post09-17-2009 02:11 AM Click Here to See the Profile for JncomuttClick Here to Email JncomuttSend a Private Message to JncomuttEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Uhh. The exhaust you use the proper V-band flange and for the intake side you use a silicone coupler.

IP: Logged

pontiackid86
Member

Posts: 19598
From: Kingwood Texas..... Yall
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 343
Rate this member

Report this Post09-17-2009 02:17 AM Click Here to See the Profile for pontiackid86Click Here to Email pontiackid86Send a Private Message to pontiackid86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by mattwa:

I do have a question. How do I connect the exhaust the the exhaust outlet? It's just round..no bolt holes or anything! Same with the intake, do i use clamps or what?



Its called a turbo band. Bolts just wont work on them. its a strap that sits onto that lip on the opening and there will be another lip on the exaust tube. I dont know where you can get them. i would sugest from the turbos manufacture.

IP: Logged

Jncomutt
Member

Posts: 8855
From: Ballertown, CT / Charlotte, NC
Registered: Apr 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 221
Rate this member

Report this Post09-17-2009 03:38 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JncomuttClick Here to Email JncomuttSend a Private Message to JncomuttEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Or you can search for V-band like I posted before ponti and you will find they are widely available.

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-17-2009 10:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Sweet thanks, I didn't know what i had to use. Now I know! That i need to spend even more money which I don't have!

IP: Logged

James_GT
Member

Posts: 485
From: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Registered: Dec 2008


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-18-2009 08:37 AM Click Here to See the Profile for James_GTClick Here to visit James_GT's HomePageClick Here to Email James_GTSend a Private Message to James_GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

That's a really cool swap Matt. That's the exact one I'd do if I had access to the parts, but being in Australia means that I'd have to import those parts which would be too costly.

A 3.4 Pushrod Turbo w/4T60

IP: Logged

timgray
Member

Posts: 2461
From: Muskegon,MI,USA
Registered: Jul 2006


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 61
Rate this member

Report this Post09-18-2009 10:10 AM Click Here to See the Profile for timgrayClick Here to visit timgray's HomePageClick Here to Email timgraySend a Private Message to timgrayEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Cool shot at this, it will go well, dont give up.

As for your programming. Honestly get ahold of darth. he is very reasonable on price and there is a good chance if you give him the right info that your first chip from him will run very well.

The way you are going is correct, and the best t hing you can do is to practice welding a LOT. get some garbage exaust or Y pipe and try and weld an hour a day and by the time you need to make your Y pipe for the turbo you will be welding very well.

I do recommend getting the engine in without turbo first and then getting it tuned and running right. THEN do the turbo project. It's not hard with the engine in the car. It sucks chasing gremlins only to discover you have a basic problem you missed with the base engine.

------------------




Best RV, Camper, and Trailer dealer in West Michigan. http://www.cliffstrailersales.com and he's a fiero owner too!

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-18-2009 01:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by timgray:

Cool shot at this, it will go well, dont give up.

As for your programming. Honestly get ahold of darth. he is very reasonable on price and there is a good chance if you give him the right info that your first chip from him will run very well.

The way you are going is correct, and the best t hing you can do is to practice welding a LOT. get some garbage exaust or Y pipe and try and weld an hour a day and by the time you need to make your Y pipe for the turbo you will be welding very well.

I do recommend getting the engine in without turbo first and then getting it tuned and running right. THEN do the turbo project. It's not hard with the engine in the car. It sucks chasing gremlins only to discover you have a basic problem you missed with the base engine.

Yes, i plan on contacting Darth with I'm at that step.

I don't think I want to do that, because I'll be using the 3.1 turbo code and I don't think the computer will be happy with-out boost being there. And I'm half set up to put the turbo in with the engine anyways.

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-18-2009 01:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by James_GT:

That's a really cool swap Matt. That's the exact one I'd do if I had access to the parts, but being in Australia means that I'd have to import those parts which would be too costly.

A 3.4 Pushrod Turbo w/4T60


I do have to admit I'm kinda copying sardonyx247's Turbo 3.4, with the blue/sliver theme. Except I'll have my 4T60 and he has his 5-speed.
I'm just happy I won't ever have to deal with dizzy's again! It gave me a lot of trouble with timing on my 2.8. I don't like them.

IP: Logged

mattwa
Member

Posts: 7106
From: Lorain, Ohio
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (41)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post09-25-2009 02:24 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mattwaClick Here to Email mattwaSend a Private Message to mattwaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I just got a leather auto shift knob in a trade! Compared to my old Plastic one, it makes a big difference. mmeyer86gt/gtp does great leather work re-wraping these, it looks amazing! Thanks again mmeyer86gt/gtp!

[This message has been edited by mattwa (edited 09-25-2009).]

IP: Logged

project34
Member

Posts: 2424
From: Menasha
Registered: Jan 2007


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-25-2009 03:49 AM Click Here to See the Profile for project34Send a Private Message to project34Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by Mike Gonzalez:
Couldnt have been that dirty, them duds still look pretty white !!!

Good Job, What are your plans ?

 
quote
Originally posted by mattwa:
Duds? What are duds?

"Duds" = "clothes."


 
quote
Originally posted by mattwa:
Well, honestly I'm having 2nd thoughts on all this....

I just don't know what I do. I want to add a turbo, but that just makes a complex job even more complex.

 
quote
Originally posted by mattwa:
I have since thought about what I could do, and I have decided that I will add a turbo onto my 3.4.

Cool. I hope you're successful with that, and document it with even more pics!

IP: Logged

Previous Page | Next Page

This topic is 18 pages long:  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18 
next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock