84 fieor-- 94 N* swap by mcfrandon
Started on: 11-18-2014 12:58 AM
Replies: 234 (4431 views)
Last post by: mcfrandon on 07-10-2023 12:48 AM
mcfrandon

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-18-2014 12:58 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mcfrandonSend a Private Message to mcfrandonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Alright this is my first time posting here on the forum. I'm a new member. I have been lurking for some time now, reading up on the northstar swaps and gathering any good info i can find. The best info i have found cam from a member who's name was something like Ajaxman or somethiing close. He posted several diagrams for the early northstar
(1993 obd1) which have been a great help for me. The engine I have is out of the 1994 ETC model. The ECU pinouts seem to be correct even tho the wires are different colors which is not a big deal im sure. I am getting stuck on a few things tho and im pretty sure I could figure them out but i would like some reassurance.

On the oil pressure sending unit I have a 4 wire pigtail coming from it instead of 2 like all the others i have seen. That is the one that came on the engine when i pulled it.

I was thinking the spec stage 2+ clutch would be enough because it says its rated to over 400 ftlbs of tq, but it looks like most people are using the stage 3+??

As far as I have investigated it sounds like this year pcm has different processors for the engine and transmission, so the engine should run without the tranny/speed wiring?

On ajaxmans post for his 93 he posted that the fuel enable pin for the ECU coming from the pass key system might work with 2.5v? I dont want to run any sort of VATS or passkey. What voltage can I run to the fuel enable input to allow the engine to run? And i would just leave the starter inhibit output disconnected.

I haven't been able to get ahold of any forum members or companies who mess with these computers. Who is my best bet?