Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  fed up! I'm going to paint her myself (Page 1)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

This topic is 5 pages long:  1   2   3   4   5 
Previous Page | Next Page
fed up! I'm going to paint her myself by bmwguru
Started on: 06-02-2007 11:25 AM
Replies: 171
Last post by: Lou6t4gto on 04-20-2009 01:11 AM
bmwguru

Feedback score:    (38)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 131
Rate this member

Report this Post06-02-2007 11:25 AM Click Here to See the Profile for bmwguruClick Here to visit bmwguru's HomePageSend a Private Message to bmwguruDirect Link to This Post
Ok, some of you may know I've been waiting since last year to get my Fiero into my regular body shop for much needed paint. Well, I am a certified master tech and own a shop, but I have absolutely no body experience, but I think I am capable of doing body work due to my OCD...it makes me a perfectionist to the extreme.
Anyway, the body shop will never get another referral from me...apparantly I've helped make him too busy.
Now here is my dilemma. I've searched the forums, but I am majorly confused. Everyone has a different method and different type of spray gun.
I have decided that I will do the paint job with the body off the car. I have plenty of room and I am changing the color, so I don't want to miss anything. I am a beginner, so what kind of spray gun should I buy. I was looking at a suction HVLP gun, but some people say get a gravity fed gun and stay away from the HVLP because I don't have the experience at painting to be able to use one of those. Also, when I go into buy the paint, how do I tell the paint place what I want? I was going to paint her Corvette yellow, but yellow is hard to get right on your first paint job. I have decided to go with BMW titanium silver.
I also need help on what kind of primer to buy. The hood was done by a body guy in white primer a few months ago.