Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Bringing a 88 Fiero Back to Life with a LFX Swap (Page 1)

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

This topic is 4 pages long:  1   2   3   4 
Previous Page | Next Page
next newest topic | next oldest topic
Bringing a 88 Fiero Back to Life with a LFX Swap by MikesFirstFiero
Started on: 07-27-2021 02:16 AM
Replies: 144 (4793 views)
Last post by: MikesFirstFiero on 03-27-2024 10:49 PM
MikesFirstFiero

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2021 02:16 AM Click Here to See the Profile for MikesFirstFieroSend a Private Message to MikesFirstFieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I and my wife moved back to the US after spending 12 years in Malaysia, I was an elevator controls designer over there. I finally decided to retire and do nothing too serious. Well that lasted for about a year and then we bought a house and I had three car garage and one car. So I setup a garage wood shop and built drawers for cabinets, a headboard, a kids rocking horse, chairs and cutting boards. Life was OK but not too complicated. Then a good friend called me and said he knew of a 1988 Fiero that was originally a 2M4, now swapped to a 2.8 with an A/T, but it did not run. And it's been sitting for ten years mostly in a garage. It's only $1K and the car is "complete" meaning all the parts are there, good or not, has 20 year old tires and flaking paint. On the good side it has a factory shop manual and it's red.

Photos taken after I swapped out the original 14" for 16"

Having always admired the Fiero, I bit on the deal. My friend even trailered it over from Seattle to North Idaho where I live. Getting it running was slow and frustrating since I knew squat about GM cars in general and Fireos in particular. But it's a car, so how bad can it be?

Lets see, I replaced
Battery, which was located in the rear trunk
Fuel Pump, all the rubber parts were melted