1984 2M4 Won't go into gear while running by Fienix
Started on: 04-05-2021 02:34 PM
Replies: 3 (60 views)
Last post by: skywurz on 04-05-2021 06:14 PM
Fienix

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-05-2021 02:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FienixSend a Private Message to FienixEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I bought my manual 84 about a month ago and trailered it home. The guy I bought it from told me I just needed to bleed the clutch. Admittedly I have never worked on cars before, but that seemed simple enough so I thought I'd be on the road within a few days. I decided if I was gonna bleed the clutch anyway I might as well install a replacement slave cylinder from Rodney Dickman, so I did and have bled the clutch a couple times now. Jacked up the driver side of the car while doing so as I read this will help get all the air out. I also noticed that the clutch was replaced in 2013 by a previous owner so I would hope there are no issues with the clutch itself.

The shifter moves around fine when the car is off, but when the engine is running, it will not go up into the 1st gear position, and makes an awful grinding noise when I try to put it in reverse (I have a video of this if it's helpful at all).

After doing some searching around on here, I also took note of my clutch pedal being non-magnetic and sitting slightly below the brake pedal, not above it. So maybe the pedal is bent and I need to replace it? Or perhaps it's an issue with the cables?

Any help or advice is appreciated!
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Patrick

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 446
Rate this member

Report this Post04-05-2021 02:45 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post