1984 2M4 Won't go into gear while running by Fienix
Started on: 04-05-2021 02:34 PM
Replies: 18 (371 views)
Last post by: fierofool on 07-08-2021 04:53 PM
Fienix

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-05-2021 02:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FienixSend a Private Message to FienixEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I bought my manual 84 about a month ago and trailered it home. The guy I bought it from told me I just needed to bleed the clutch. Admittedly I have never worked on cars before, but that seemed simple enough so I thought I'd be on the road within a few days. I decided if I was gonna bleed the clutch anyway I might as well install a replacement slave cylinder from Rodney Dickman, so I did and have bled the clutch a couple times now. Jacked up the driver side of the car while doing so as I read this will help get all the air out. I also noticed that the clutch was replaced in 2013 by a previous owner so I would hope there are no issues with the clutch itself.

The shifter moves around fine when the car is off, but when the engine is running, it will not go up into the 1st gear position, and makes an awful grinding noise when I try to put it in reverse (I have a video of this if it's helpful at all).

After doing some searching around on here, I also took note of my clutch pedal being non-magnetic and sitting slightly below the brake pedal, not above it. So maybe the pedal is bent and I need to replace it? Or perhaps it's an issue with the cables?

Any help or advice is appreciated!

EDIT: The problem has been solved. A torsion spring popped out of the clutch disc and was preventing shifting.

[This message has been edited by Fienix (edited 07-09-2021).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Patrick

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 458
Rate this member