Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  1986 Fiero SE Won't Run (Page 1)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

This topic is 2 pages long:  1   2 
Previous Page | Next Page
next newest topic | next oldest topic
1986 Fiero SE Won't Run by 72and86
Started on: 09-17-2021 02:13 PM
Replies: 60 (746 views)
Last post by: 72and86 on 10-26-2021 11:07 AM
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-17-2021 02:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
1986 Fiero SE V6 Won't Run. My mechanic friend and I just replaced the fuel filter and fuel pump in the gas tank. We have pressure at the rail. What happens is that the car starts right up and dies 2 seconds later.
But...
With my buddy in the engine bay working the throttle we can keep the engine running indefinitely but as soon as he lets go of working the throttle the engine dies.
We have checked the idle air control valve and its spotless.
Obviously we have fuel and spark. He thinks its a vacuum leak but cant pin point it.
Any ideas? We're stumped/ (One early attempt he plugged a vacuum hose on the middle back (top) of the engine and it ran but high idle. We couldn't figure out where it goes? Maybe brake booster? Anyway we tried that agin and it didnt seem to help.)
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
ArthurPeale
Member
Posts: 117
From: Brattleboro, VT, USA
Registered: Jul 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-17-2021 05:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ArthurPealeClick Here to Email ArthurPealeSend a Private Message to ArthurPealeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
if you put it into diagnostic mode does it run?

Have you checked the timing?
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-18-2021 01:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by ArthurPeale:

if you put it into diagnostic mode does it run?

Have you checked the timing?


Ah it appears to blink code 22 and 44 if I read this right.
IP: Logged
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10801
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 89
Rate this member

Report this Post09-19-2021 10:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by 72and86:


Ah it appears to blink code 22 and 44 if I read this right.


44 could be a bad 02 sensor or a leak in the exhaust manifold. 22 is TPS. Both could contribute to your problem.
IP: Logged
Xenoblast
Member
Posts: 150
From:
Registered: May 2020


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-20-2021 01:36 AM Click Here to See the Profile for XenoblastClick Here to Email XenoblastSend a Private Message to XenoblastEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by 72and86:

if I read this right.


He meant actually running the engine while the diag ports are grounded. This is how you set timing. engine should be warmed up when checking timing.
IP: Logged
Forrest
Member
Posts: 34
From: Seabrook TX
Registered: Sep 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-20-2021 11:42 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ForrestClick Here to Email ForrestSend a Private Message to ForrestEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Mine did this after replacing a broken injector. I had forgot to plug the vac lines into the intake and map sensor on the passenger side of the intake. You may want to just check those lines.
IP: Logged
AldisFiero
Junior Member
Posts: 5
From: British Columbia
Registered: Sep 2021


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-23-2021 04:53 PM Click Here to See the Profile for AldisFieroClick Here to Email AldisFieroSend a Private Message to AldisFieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Clean up all throttle body butterfly valves and contact surfaces. Not with a spray can of whatever. Make them clean.

[This message has been edited by AldisFiero (edited 09-23-2021).]

IP: Logged
buddycraigg
Member
Posts: 13419
From: kansas city, mo
Registered: Jul 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 476
Rate this member

Report this Post09-25-2021 09:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for buddycraiggClick Here to Email buddycraiggSend a Private Message to buddycraiggEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I think your IAC is not working.
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-26-2021 11:25 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by buddycraigg:

I think your IAC is not working.


Nope. Just put a new one in and no change. Engine starts revs high and dies.
IP: Logged
buddycraigg
Member
Posts: 13419
From: kansas city, mo
Registered: Jul 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 476
Rate this member

Report this Post09-26-2021 03:30 PM Click Here to See the Profile for buddycraiggClick Here to Email buddycraiggSend a Private Message to buddycraiggEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
What made you want to replace the fuel pump?
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-26-2021 07:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by buddycraigg:

What made you want to replace the fuel pump?


Same symptoms as my 1990 Ford Bronco, ran if you sprayed starting fluid in throttle body. I replaced it in Bronco and it ran and idled like a dream.
Fiero had same problems. Also my Fiero had NO low end power, nothing. Keep in mind I haven't taken the Fiero out of my driveway since purchase cause it runs so bad. Its been getting worse and worse.

Update: ICV replaced. No real change. It starts hard, then idles really high, and dies. TPS on order.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Xenoblast
Member
Posts: 150
From:
Registered: May 2020


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-26-2021 07:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for XenoblastClick Here to Email XenoblastSend a Private Message to XenoblastEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Did you ever see if it would run with the diagnostics ports shorted?

IP: Logged
buddycraigg
Member
Posts: 13419
From: kansas city, mo
Registered: Jul 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 476
Rate this member

Report this Post09-26-2021 10:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for buddycraiggClick Here to Email buddycraiggSend a Private Message to buddycraiggEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I'm sorry that I have forgotten a lot about these cars.
I still understand things, but my head works kinda different now.

So I'm wondering about fuel pressure or TPS.
The TPS can be tested with a multimeter.
You can test your fuel pressure with a fuel pressure gauge.

You can remove the IAC and use your finger to cover the hole and run the engine at idle/
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-27-2021 12:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Xenoblast:

Did you ever see if it would run with the diagnostics ports shorted?


I just tried this. Doing this, it wont even start at all. Just cranked. At least before it started and died. Now jumping the ports it doesn't even do that. Just cranks. tried 6X.
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-27-2021 12:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

72and86

48 posts
Member since Aug 2016
 
quote
Originally posted by buddycraigg:

I'm sorry that I have forgotten a lot about these cars.
I still understand things, but my head works kinda different now.

So I'm wondering about fuel pressure or TPS.
The TPS can be tested with a multimeter.
You can test your fuel pressure with a fuel pressure gauge.

You can remove the IAC and use your finger to cover the hole and run the engine at idle/


IAC replaced. No change.
Have plenty of fuel pressure.
IP: Logged
Rexgirl
Member
Posts: 394
From: S. Oregon
Registered: Dec 2013


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-27-2021 03:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RexgirlSend a Private Message to RexgirlEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Maybe check for a crack in the EGR pipe (esp where it attaches under the plenum) ?
IP: Logged
ArthurPeale
Member
Posts: 117
From: Brattleboro, VT, USA
Registered: Jul 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-28-2021 03:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ArthurPealeClick Here to Email ArthurPealeSend a Private Message to ArthurPealeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by 72and86:


I just tried this. Doing this, it wont even start at all. Just cranked. At least before it started and died. Now jumping the ports it doesn't even do that. Just cranks. tried 6X.


If it runs without being put into diag mode, but won't after being put INTO diag mode...I'd definitely check the timing.
IP: Logged
buddycraigg
Member
Posts: 13419
From: kansas city, mo
Registered: Jul 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 476
Rate this member

Report this Post09-28-2021 07:29 PM Click Here to See the Profile for buddycraiggClick Here to Email buddycraiggSend a Private Message to buddycraiggEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by 72and86:


IAC replaced. No change.
Have plenty of fuel pressure.

I know you replaced the IAC.

If you remove it, you can use your finger to control the air flow through the throttle body.
That is what I am suggesting you try.
If you do not have your finger on the hole, it should have a very high idle.

[This message has been edited by buddycraigg (edited 09-28-2021).]

IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-28-2021 07:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by ArthurPeale:


If it runs without being put into diag mode, but won't after being put INTO diag mode...I'd definitely check the timing.


How do I check it when the idle is all over the place as its nursed manually by someone by the throttle cable connections? And what would cause the idle problem out of nowhere when it idles before but roughly?
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-28-2021 07:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

72and86

48 posts
Member since Aug 2016
 
quote
Originally posted by buddycraigg:

I know you replaced the IAC.

If you remove it, you can use your finger to control the air flow through the throttle body.
That is what I am suggesting you try.
If you do not have your finger on the hole, it should have a very high idle.



Ok. Will try that. BTW heres the 2 ICXs.
IP: Logged
Spoon
Member
Posts: 3543
From: Sadsburyville, PA. 19369 / USA
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score:    (16)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 60
Rate this member

Report this Post09-29-2021 07:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for SpoonSend a Private Message to SpoonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I think I see your problem.



I take it that both of those IAC"s were removed with Engine-Off/Key-Off. When key is turned off the plunger withdraws from the port to allow idle air for the next start. Just turn the key to start, no need to push on the gas pedal.

The old IAC shows plunger extended which would block idle air when trying to start the engine, however working the gas pedal at same time as cranking may successfully allow the engine to start but would kill the engine once foot leaves gas pedal.

Since neither one seems to work correctly it may be time to acquire an automotive multi-meter and check the harness connector for the IAC to see if you're getting the proper electrical signals.

I could be all wrong about this and I welcome others to jump in and set the record straight.

Spoon

------------------
"Kilgore Trout once wrote a short story which was a dialogue between two pieces of yeast. They were discussing the possible purposes of life as they ate sugar and suffocated in their own excrement. Because of their limited intelligence, they never came close to guessing that they were making champagne." - Kurt Vonnegut

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-29-2021 11:54 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Spoon:

I think I see your problem.



I take it that both of those IAC"s were removed with Engine-Off/Key-Off. When key is turned off the plunger withdraws from the port to allow idle air for the next start. Just turn the key to start, no need to push on the gas pedal.

The old IAC shows plunger extended which would block idle air when trying to start the engine, however working the gas pedal at same time as cranking may successfully allow the engine to start but would kill the engine once foot leaves gas pedal.

Since neither one seems to work correctly it may be time to acquire an automotive multi-meter and check the harness connector for the IAC to see if you're getting the proper electrical signals.

I could be all wrong about this and I welcome others to jump in and set the record straight.

Spoon




The top one is taken out of the car after sitting for 24 hrs, not run. The bottom new one is shown as it looks right out the box.
To recap; as it stands now, car starts after several attempts, idles very high a few seconds and dies. We haven't tried keeping it going manually by the throttle linkage... yet.

Ok so how do I test it and what reading am I looking for?
Steve
IP: Logged
Spoon
Member
Posts: 3543
From: Sadsburyville, PA. 19369 / USA
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score:    (16)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 60
Rate this member

Report this Post09-30-2021 07:55 PM Click Here to See the Profile for SpoonSend a Private Message to SpoonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
This link can help. Scroll down to "Idle Air Control Valve (IAC)".

http://www.gmtuners.com/tech/TPS_IAC.htm

ps: gmtuners is your friend...

Spoon

------------------
"Kilgore Trout once wrote a short story which was a dialogue between two pieces of yeast. They were discussing the possible purposes of life as they ate sugar and suffocated in their own excrement. Because of their limited intelligence, they never came close to guessing that they were making champagne." - Kurt Vonnegut

IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-30-2021 07:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Rexgirl:

Maybe check for a crack in the EGR pipe (esp where it attaches under the plenum) ?


Without disassembly we sprayed Starting Fluid the area and no change in RPM. So without taking that apart it doesn't seem to be that. Tube from what I can see is nice and clean, no rot but cant see it all.
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-30-2021 08:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

72and86

48 posts
Member since Aug 2016
 
quote
Originally posted by ArthurPeale:


If it runs without being put into diag mode, but won't after being put INTO diag mode...I'd definitely check the timing.


Cant check timing if the car idles so rough and only by manual means working the throttle cable.
IP: Logged
ArthurPeale
Member
Posts: 117
From: Brattleboro, VT, USA
Registered: Jul 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-30-2021 08:43 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ArthurPealeClick Here to Email ArthurPealeSend a Private Message to ArthurPealeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You can check the roughest timing by manually rotating the engine until cyl 1 is at TDC, and verifying distributor installation.

Fine tune it from there
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-07-2021 10:22 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Well a replacement TPS didnt do anything. Same. Engine starts hard then idles 3 seconds and dies. So my mechanic took the intake off looking for vacuum leaks. But we did find this...

[This message has been edited by 72and86 (edited 10-07-2021).]

IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-07-2021 11:43 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Well the latest in the saga.
Cleaned out the entire plentum and EGR port (see pic above).
Checked EGR tube; spotless
Replaced TPS
Replaced Coolant Sensor
Removed cat and checked it.

Still same result, nothing changed. Car starts hard, runs a few seconds and dies. As before it can run if someone is constantly feeding the throttle. But let go and it dies.

Running out of things to replace and nothing seems to improve it.
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 31883
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 448
Rate this member

Report this Post10-08-2021 02:49 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by 72and86:

Have plenty of fuel pressure.


What is it... and how quickly does it drop when power to the fuel pump is cut?

IP: Logged
SemperFi18
Member
Posts: 58
From: Spokane Valley, WA
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-08-2021 03:06 AM Click Here to See the Profile for SemperFi18Send a Private Message to SemperFi18Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Check all vacuum line connections. This includes them being inserted too far into their connectors causing an obstruction. Particularly the hose off the EGR solenoid, the hose goes to the firewall then tastes a sharp left, I had a large leak at the connection causing a similar issue. Check the PCV valve for free movement as well, you have to have a vacuum leak somewhere
IP: Logged
SemperFi18
Member
Posts: 58
From: Spokane Valley, WA
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-08-2021 03:08 AM Click Here to See the Profile for SemperFi18Send a Private Message to SemperFi18Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

SemperFi18

58 posts
Member since Aug 2016
Also, have you replaced the vacuum lines with a stainless set or are you still running plastic? Those lines if original are almost guaranteed to have cracks
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-08-2021 10:24 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Patrick:

What is it... and how quickly does it drop when power to the fuel pump is cut?


Dont have a gauge. When we pressed the valve with the tip of a screwdriver, fuel came spraying out like a gieser.
But I just ordered a gauge tester on eBay
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-08-2021 10:30 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
What is this tube thats open directly below the wire cluster? Its against firewall left side (drivers) in back of V6 engine, My mechanic says its nothing, just a vent, possibly fuel return vent.

IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 31883
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 448
Rate this member

Report this Post10-08-2021 12:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by 72and86:

What is this tube thats open directly below the wire cluster?


About once a month someone asks about that pipe. Relevant thread Here.

 
quote
Originally posted by Patrick:

Hopefully that pipe was disconnected from your air filter canister during the recall (and the canister hole plugged), otherwise that uncapped pipe has been allowing outside unfiltered air to enter into the filtered side of your air intake system all these years.

IP: Logged
buddycraigg
Member
Posts: 13419
From: kansas city, mo
Registered: Jul 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 476
Rate this member

Report this Post10-08-2021 09:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for buddycraiggClick Here to Email buddycraiggSend a Private Message to buddycraiggEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by 72and86:

Well the latest in the saga.
Cleaned out the entire plentum and EGR port (see pic above).
Checked EGR tube; spotless
Replaced TPS
Replaced Coolant Sensor
Removed cat and checked it.

Still same result, nothing changed. Car starts hard, runs a few seconds and dies. As before it can run if someone is constantly feeding the throttle. But let go and it dies.

Running out of things to replace and nothing seems to improve it.


Stop buying stuff.

We need to diagnose the problem.

I cannot help anymore until you tell me what happened when you tried to make it idle with using your finger over the hole when you took the IACM out.
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-09-2021 10:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by buddycraigg:


Stop buying stuff.

We need to diagnose the problem.

I cannot help anymore until you tell me what happened when you tried to make it idle with using your finger over the hole when you took the IACM out.


OK.
The IACM is at the top of the throttle body right?
To do the test does it matter if its wiring harness is connected?
Thx
IP: Logged
72and86
Member
Posts: 48
From: Vernon CT
Registered: Aug 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-09-2021 12:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 72and86Click Here to Email 72and86Send a Private Message to 72and86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Ok the latest saga.
I got 2 gallons of fresh gas and added it just in case. (When we changed fuel pumps, all of a sudden the gas gauge is not working right now and pegged on full! WTF?)
Anyway the addition of fresh gas made it start and surge and hunt a little and die. Before it would only start and die. This is what it did before we replaced the fuel pump.

I tried jumping the 2 ODB ports with a paperclip and the engine wouldn't even start. Just cranked.
I removed the paper clip. I tried it. It started and ran! First time in 3 weeks it actually ran without my foot nursing it on the gas pedal. It idled little rough but idled at 1500. Whoa, I thought, progress.

BUT...
Then I remembered OMG!, that I put a rag in the throttle body to keep the critters out at night. I got out of the car, I pulled out the rag and idle surged way high, it quickly idled erratic and it died.
This must be a clue.

Later with my mechanic we will try covering the IAC. I need an assistant.
IP: Logged
buddycraigg
Member
Posts: 13419
From: kansas city, mo
Registered: Jul 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 476
Rate this member

Report this Post10-09-2021 01:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for buddycraiggClick Here to Email buddycraiggSend a Private Message to buddycraiggEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The IAC is the thing you had a picture of them side by side.

DO NOT HAVE IT PLUGGED IN.
If it wants to shut down the flow of air, it will push the plunger forward until it falls out.

How much old gas is in the tank? How old is the gas?
IP: Logged
Rexgirl
Member
Posts: 394
From: S. Oregon
Registered: Dec 2013


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-09-2021 03:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RexgirlSend a Private Message to RexgirlEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I am also wondering if your cold start tube (#5 in pic) is okay and not leaking? It connects under the throttle body and feeds the intake manifold.
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 31883
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 448
Rate this member

Report this Post10-09-2021 04:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Rexgirl:

I am also wondering if your cold start tube (#5 in pic) is okay and not leaking? It connects under the throttle body and feeds the intake manifold.


"Cold start tube"? Doesn't that tube supply air that's been controlled/regulated by the IAC valve?

IP: Logged
Previous Page | Next Page

This topic is 2 pages long:  1   2 
next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock