3800 vs V8 ??? by Corpsmen Ed
Started on: 07-08-2013 02:51 PM
Replies: 85 (3051 views)
Last post by: chetw77cruiser on 05-12-2014 08:56 PM
Corpsmen Ed

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-08-2013 02:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Corpsmen EdClick Here to visit Corpsmen Ed's HomePageSend a Private Message to Corpsmen EdEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I know this have been covered ad nauseum, but here we go again.

As I get closer to chosing my engine for the swap, I can't help but wonder which is the best swap for me. I'm not an expert mechanic. I don't have unlimited fund. I want something reliable, and relatively fuel efficient. But I also want power! And that sounds good, not like a rice burner.

I was originally leaning towards the 3800 sc. It seems the easiest and least costly to swap and delivers decent power. Plus it has good fuel mileage. The problem I'm having is finding one in my area that doesn't have a billion miles and costs less than $1500. The high miles scares me because I don't want to spend $1000 for a motor only to have to rebuild it before I can even install it. I'm not real keen on the whine from the supercharger either.

3800sc?
Pro's:
Good power
Easy swap
Good fuel economy
Reliability
Cons:
Hard to come by with low mileage without breaking the bank
supercharger whine

V8?
Pro's:
V8 power
V8 rumble
Easy maintenance
Cons:Poor fuel economy
More costly swap

So forum friends...What are your thought? What are your favorites? What are your opinions on cost, reliability, fuel mileage, swap difficulty, etc???

Help!
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Arns85GT

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 202
Rate this member

Report this Post07-08-2013 03:50 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Arns85GTSend a Private Message to Arns85GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have just done the 4.9 swap. Most guys need to get the wiring harness and ECM from the donor car to make it work.