3400??? by bandit307
Started on: 03-22-2008 07:27 PM
Replies: 43
Last post by: bandit307 on 06-01-2008 07:34 PM
bandit307

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-22-2008 07:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for bandit307Send a Private Message to bandit307Direct Link to This Post
Ok so here is the situation. I have a 2000 Grand Am GT that has blew another tranny and i am not willing to spend the money to put another one in. Now i have been using my 87 Fiero GT as my DD but the 2.8 just cratered on me and now i am left with out a vehicle.

I am curious if any who has done a 3400 swap could give me detailed instructions on the swap, what parts are needed what custom work how long i should expect it to take. ect. I have basic knowledge on engines i have swapped heads and other small stuff but never swaped an engine, so this will be a new experiance. I might just end up putting another 2.8 in the fiero for ease, But if you guys think I can put that 3400 in with a little help then that will be the route i take. I have about 2 months to complete this. I can get access to a hoist and most tools needed. I just need a good walk through and list of parts. So everything would go smoothly. I do have a few friends that are mechanics also, so they can also aid me in this. All input greatly appreciated.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
joshua riedl

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-22-2008 07:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for joshua riedlSend a Private Message to joshua riedlDirect Link to This Post
I did the swap to a 5speed. The mounts were wcf poly with 88v6 brackets and custom dogbone. pcmforless.com handled the computer disabeling the antitheft and auto trans stuff. used a 2001 alero computer. hoses were off the shelf autozone pieces. throttle cable was spliced usign a fiero cable and 3400 cable. pretty easy swap really.
merlot566jka

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member