Pennock's Fiero Forum
  FAQs & HowTos
  Upgrade to CS130 alternator

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Upgrade to CS130 alternator by fierosound
Started on: 03-15-2014 10:34 AM
Replies: 10 (4670 views)
Last post by: HanksGT on 05-22-2022 05:16 PM
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14972
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 284
Rate this member

Report this Post03-15-2014 10:34 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The CS130 used on the 88 Fiero V6 is an upgrade to the earlier SI units.
It's more compact, better designed and better performance.
I have them on both my 87 GT V6 and my Indy's SD4 engine (pictured below)
They are a direct fit (mounting ears are 180 degrees apart) and only required a connector change.

Get the 88 V6 CS130 alternator - 105 amps (swap your pulley to it if needed).
See Cave http://web.archive.org/web/.../wombatcs/csalt1.htm



AC Delco number 334-2284 - 105 amp unit
Delco's vehicle list for wrecking yard diving
Look for the cars with A/C on them.

BUICK(5)1986-1988
SKYLARK(3)1986-1988
1988 V6-181ci 3.0L F/I Vin L
1987 V6-181ci 3.0L F/I Vin L
1986 V6-181ci 3.0L F/I Vin L

SOMERSET(1)1987-1987
1987 V6-181ci 3.0L F/I Vin L

SOMERSET REGAL(1)1986-1986
1986 V6-181ci 3.0L F/I Vin L

OLDSMOBILE(3)1986-1988
CALAIS(2)1986-1987
1987 V6-181ci 3.0L F/I Vin L
1986 V6-181ci 3.0L F/I Vin L

CUTLASS CALAIS(1)1988-1988
1988 V6-181ci 3.0L F/I Vin L

PONTIAC(3)1986-1988
FIERO(1)1988-1988
1988 V6-173ci 2.8L F/I Vin 9

GRAND AM(2)1986-1987
1987 V6-181ci 3.0L F/I Vin L


You'll have to replace the wiring end connectors, or get an adapter from Rodney or others.
http://rodneydickman.com/pr....php?products_id=361


------------------
My World of Wheels Winners (Click on links below)

3.4L Supercharged 87 GT and Super Duty 4 Indy #163

keywords: Fiero SD4, Pontiac SD4, Super Duty 4, SD4 engine, SD4, Fiero Pace Car,

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 11-10-2022).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
theogre
Member
Posts: 31225
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 563
Rate this member

Report this Post03-15-2014 10:59 AM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Also see my Cave, Rabid-Wombat's CS-130 Conversion for 85-87 V6.
Older L4 use same parts but need to switch pulleys.

------------------
Dr. Ian Malcolm: Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn't stop to think if they should.
(Jurassic Park)


The Ogre's Fiero Cave (It's also at the top and bottom of every forum page...)

[This message has been edited by theogre (edited 03-15-2014).]

IP: Logged
Csjag
Member
Posts: 3170
From: Ocklawaha,Fl, USA
Registered: Dec 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-16-2014 10:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for CsjagClick Here to Email CsjagSend a Private Message to CsjagEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Wow that is one beautiful SD4! What is its horsepower rating?
IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14972
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 284
Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2014 09:15 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
CS130 - 140amp, 170amp and more...
https://alternatorparts.com/cs130-alternator.html

If those aren't enough power, there's a 220A rebuild kit available.
https://www.aspwholesale.co...rade-kit-p12424.html

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 07-21-2020).]

IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14972
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 284
Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2014 09:16 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

fierosound

14972 posts
Member since Nov 1999
 
quote
Originally posted by Csjag:

Wow that is one beautiful SD4! What is its horsepower rating?


Thanks. We're thinking 250hp. It DOES NOT feel like 4-cylinders when driving.

IP: Logged
fireboss
Member
Posts: 2245
From: hueytown ,alabama
Registered: Apr 2011


Feedback score:    (20)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 58
Rate this member

Report this Post06-04-2014 03:05 AM Click Here to See the Profile for firebossClick Here to Email firebossSend a Private Message to firebossEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by fierosound:

If the 105 amp rating isn't enough power, there's a 220A rebuild kit available.
http://aspwholesale.com/ind...wProd&productId=5159


Would there be any problems with this 220 amp upgrade on stock charging system..
IP: Logged
Inferno
Member
Posts: 423
From: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Registered: Nov 2003


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-04-2014 11:49 AM Click Here to See the Profile for InfernoClick Here to Email InfernoSend a Private Message to InfernoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
To answer your question. No.
Simplist way to answer this without getting into electrical hoohaw. More AMPS will not damage your system. As the Alternator only provides what is needed for the electrical systems load requirements. It is much worse when you dont have enough AMPS then having too much available.
IP: Logged
Kevin87FieroGT
Member
Posts: 1200
From: Michigan
Registered: Nov 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-10-2016 09:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Kevin87FieroGTSend a Private Message to Kevin87FieroGTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
IP: Logged
bHooper
Member
Posts: 4155
From: greensboro, nc
Registered: May 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-13-2019 02:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for bHooperClick Here to Email bHooperSend a Private Message to bHooperEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Question.... I have the cs130 from the 87-91 Corvette. Any issues with that alternator? Also, do I need to add the heat shield?
IP: Logged
fireboss
Member
Posts: 2245
From: hueytown ,alabama
Registered: Apr 2011


Feedback score:    (20)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 58
Rate this member

Report this Post02-26-2019 02:46 AM Click Here to See the Profile for firebossClick Here to Email firebossSend a Private Message to firebossEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
as long as the mounting ears are in the same position it will....no heat shield needed. I left the cooling tube in mine..
IP: Logged
HanksGT
Junior Member
Posts: 2
From: Phoenix, AZ
Registered: Apr 2022


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-22-2022 05:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for HanksGTClick Here to Email HanksGTSend a Private Message to HanksGTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks for all the advice in this thread. I decided I wanted brand new and more power, so I got a 47802 Powermaster for an '88 Fiero GT for our '85 GT. The new unit comes with a test output card for your unit. Ours showed 103 amps at idle and 138 at high speed. Now I can run the A/C, lights and factory fan at idle and not drop down to 12.8 volts on a digital gauge.

I removed the right rear toe control arm and lost the slotted nut (m12 x 1.25) but it made it easier to swap than moving brake lines.

Good thing I checked the fit of the new unit in to the stock bracket BEFORE i put it back in. There was no way I could have wiggled it in, so I did a quick clean up on the bracket where the top of the alternator goes. I cleaned the old pulley with a wire brush and brake clean and mounted it using the new fan, since the stock fan rubbed on the new PM. I used a ruler to check the location of the old pulley height to alternator then matched it on the new one, shimming as needed.

A helper would have been great when trying to put the new unit back in. I got the bracket and alternator in place, then put two bolts loosely in the bracket to engine. Followed that by bolting on the BATT lead and didn't use ANY connector for the excite wire, it's already internal on these and since we don't have an idiot light, just a gauge we didn't need to wire to 2 to 4 pin adapter. Then the belt went on. I put the bolt in the bottom of the alternator to bracket then wiggled the top mount into the bracket in from underneath.

Several hours but well worth it.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock