Wrapping a Fiero by ledtear
Started on: 05-23-2024 11:19 AM
Replies: 14 (293 views)
Last post by: Notorio on 06-05-2024 07:58 PM
ledtear

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-23-2024 11:19 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ledtearSend a Private Message to ledtearEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So I have an 88 that is in serious need of a paint job. But I am wondering if wrapping it is an option. I've never done it before. Is it difficult? Is it something an amateur can take on?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Cliff Pennock
Administrator

Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 699
Rate this member

Report this Post05-23-2024 05:19 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Cliff PennockClick Here to visit Cliff Pennock's HomePageSend a Private Message to Cliff PennockEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I recently (like a year ago) wrapped a motorcycle and it was a lot harder than I expected but I think that's because the body parts that needed to be wrapped were small and quite curvy. Also, I kept readjusting the vinyl because I thought certain creases would otherwise never come out. By doing that, I actually overstretched the wrap a few times, causing it to discolor.

Then the second time I wrapped it (I redid it about 6 months later) it was much easier since I understood the vinyl is very forgiving and creases actually come out easily f you use moderate heat from a heat gun or blow dryer.

I honestly thing wrapping a Fiero isn't that hard since the body panels aren't all that curvy at all. Just watch a few videos on YouTube and you get a good idea what it takes to wrap a car. I'm actually thinking about wrapping my Fiero too. The only problem I see is that it won't last forever. I've read that 5 years is the max before it starts to get ugly. Also, it will not cover up any irregularities. If you have chipped paint, that will be visible once wrapped too.
theogre

Leave feedback