Bringing an '85 GT back to life? by jumpmonkey
Started on: 03-20-2024 02:28 PM
Replies: 5 (148 views)
Last post by: TheDigitalAlchemist on 03-25-2024 11:47 PM
jumpmonkey

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-20-2024 02:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jumpmonkeySend a Private Message to jumpmonkeyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Context: I just purchased my first Fiero, a non-running 85GT that has been sitting for some time(10-15 years). I am a GM apprentice tech and student at a technical school. My knowledge is limited but I can understand car-speak. That being said, I'd like to hear your thoughts on how to bring it back to life.

I believe I've found the issue for why it wasn't running. The fuel pump is not working. I got a lot of great advice in this thread that I started(Shoutout to 1985 Fiero GT, jelly2m8, CSM842M4, theogre, and Patrick). I've ordered a new pump, sending unit, and fuel filter. I also plan on cleaning the tank and lining it with POR-15 Fuel Tank Sealer which JohnWPB did with his '86GT in this build thread. Once I get it all put back together, I have a strong feeling that the car will run.

What would be your recommendations for continuing to restore the car after I get it back on the road? I think I'll have to work on the brake lines and possibly replace all the vacuum lines, just to be safe. I also have to get the headlight motors to operate. I posted about that and after taking them apart and seeing the insides, I'll probably move to the Gen 2 system. My only issue has been finding an affordable harness and headlamp control module.
As for what I've done so far, the oil/filter has been replaced and will be replaced again after driving the car for a small time. I replaced all the spark plugs. I'll be replacing the fuel filter, air filter, and PCV valve.