Keep burning icm by Cannings
Started on: 05-23-2023 02:27 PM
Replies: 20 (311 views)
Last post by: Patrick on 06-28-2023 08:37 PM
Cannings

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-23-2023 02:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for CanningsSend a Private Message to CanningsEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I’m new to the form. Not sure if I did the list right the last time but I’ll try again. I got the catalytic converter removed last year thinking that’s what where it was coming from. I was driving and the car quit. I could still smell the rottin egg smell and then I noticed the battery as swelled. I replaced the the icm battery and new coil. Next day same thing. I replaced the icm and battery. I took a volt meter to see if it was over charging but I didn’t notice it was by idiling turning a/c on and checking it like that. But something is making it over charge while I’m driving I’m thinking and burning i icm out. I did put in a new coil as well. So I’m thinking it could be the alternator I guess. But not too sure. Any thoughts ? Thanks Rennie
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Dukesterpro

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-23-2023 04:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for DukesterproSend a Private Message to DukesterproEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Im just gonna beat everyone to the punch here.

Get a multimeter, they are only a couple of bucks. Start the car and find out what voltage is pumping out. No point in throwing a 200$ alternator at a problem until you know for sure you actually have a issue there.

Keep us posted
Cannings

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-23-2023 06:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for CanningsSend a Private Message to CanningsEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Originally posted by Dukesterpro:

Im just gonna beat everyone to the punch here.