EGR Duty Cycle by Romsk
Started on: 10-02-2022 05:42 PM
Replies: 7 (466 views)
Last post by: Romsk on 11-14-2022 03:30 PM
Romsk

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-02-2022 05:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RomskClick Here to visit Romsk's HomePageSend a Private Message to RomskEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hi All,

I have read a lot about EGR Duty cycles and I understand what a duty cycle is (I am an engineer - but not in automotive), but everywhere I go for EGRs I see good explanations on the Duty Cycle RATIOS but NEVER the FREQUENCY of the cycle (how often it reoccurs).

When I am told that an EGR Duty Cycle is running at 50% I know that it means the Solenoid is activated 50% of the time and deactivated 50% of the time. But nobody ever says anything about how long (in orders of time magnitude) does the Duty Cycle repeat. Is it on the order of minutes, seconds, fractions of seconds?

Also, if the Duty Cycle is at a rapid rate, does that mean that the EGR Valve responds to the average of the On/Off ratio? That is, if at a very fast 50% Duty Cycle, would that mean the valve is 50% steady open (fast Duty Cycle frequency). Or a physically noticeable open 50% of the time and closed 50% of the time (slow Duty Cycle frequency).

Think of a light bulb driven by a 50% duty cycle at a low frequency - you will see the light flicker from full on to full off. But at a 50% duty cycle at a high frequency - you would not see the light flicker but it would appear to be at a steady half brightness. In either case, the light consumed basically is the same amount of light power - it just how much it "flickers" in either case. So, the Solenoid and EGR Diaphragm can work in a similar fashion - so it is a LOW or HIGH frequency duty cycle? - except we are talking vacuum rather than light power.