Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Dampener question, timing questions - newer 2.8?

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Dampener question, timing questions - newer 2.8? by MLSist
Started on: 01-10-2022 08:04 PM
Replies: 7 (311 views)
Last post by: MLSist on 01-12-2022 08:48 AM
MLSist

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-10-2022 08:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MLSistSend a Private Message to MLSistEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey all - first time posting here. I'm a technician at a shop in the DC area, 25+ years experience - though this would be the first Fiero I've dived into. Quite a lovely car, all told,

We're installing a rebuilt 2.8 into an 86 GT. Original motor threw a rod through the side of the block so I wasn't able to use it as a core; I sourced another rebuildable motor, from Facebook Marketplace, and had our local machine shop rework the block and heads. It came without a dampener, and the dampener off of the original motor was toast (the rubber was badly worn.) So I grabbed a dampener off of the Fiero Store and modified it per their instructions (scribed a new mark 4.6" counterclockwise from the thick mark on it.)

Here's where stuff gets weird - the mark on the dampener that corresponds to TDC #1 (which I've measured using a dial indicator) is the ORIGINAL mark on this new dampener. The scale on the timing cover, I should note, is on the LH side of the motor - the RH side if you're facing the front of the motor. Poking around on this forum leads me to believe that all of these Fiero V6's had the scale on the RH side (LH if you're facing the motor) - the side closest to the trunk, which would make sense in terms of convenience given the orientation of the motor in the car.