4 Wheel Steering Discussion by MichiganReefer
Started on: 11-16-2021 03:18 PM
Replies: 13 (309 views)
Last post by: pmbrunelle on 11-22-2021 07:30 PM
MichiganReefer

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-16-2021 03:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MichiganReeferSend a Private Message to MichiganReeferEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey all,

This is my first post to the community as I'm a fairly new Fiero owner- what I'd like to discuss is the history of 4 Wheel Steering in a Fiero.

So for work, I'm an engineer and happen to have a background in automotive steering and vehicle dynamics. I was digging through the internet to see if 4 wheel steering had been done to a Fiero because I knew the rear suspension for 84-87 was a repurposed front end from the Phoenix. Turns out that it has been brought up a couple of times over the years in the forum here and they linked to an article from the 80s showing what Saginaw Steering was doing to make it happen. For those who haven't heard or seen:

Popular Science Nov 1987-Fiero Article

Simply put, they were trying to put a Steer-by-Wire system into the rear end to increase handling performance. I have a buddy who works at Nexteer Automotive (previously Saginaw Steering) and knows a Senior engineer who happened to work on it all those years ago. There is a lot of history there and I'd love to ask technical questions to him but I doubt he can legally answer them or fully remember.

Has there been anyone out there that has attempted to home engineer a rear steering system yet? Now that we have universal EPS kits I see it being a lot more possible than 10 years ago when EPS wasn't really even in production cars. As if I don't already have a ton of resto-mod ideas for my 88 GT (3800SC Series 2 swap), part of me wants to engineer a rack that we can put into the 84-87 cars to make 4 Wheel Steer possible.