Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  WBo2 hook up to 7730

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
WBo2 hook up to 7730 by fierofinder
Started on: 06-03-2021 05:05 PM
Replies: 9 (148 views)
Last post by: Will on 06-07-2021 10:12 AM
fierofinder
Member
Posts: 632
From: Battle Ground, WA
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-03-2021 05:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofinderClick Here to Email fierofinderSend a Private Message to fierofinderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Still trying to get my fiero tuned. It's been tuned well enough it drives ok but my tuner says we need the wideband hooked up for fine tuning. So I have it installed and it works but we are not getting the information showing up on the data logs. I need to look up what we did again but we had it hooked up one way and it didn't read so he changed some stuff on the tune and we swapped the pinout of the o2 and now we get a reading but it's not right. Any one have an idea what we are doing wrong?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Wichita
Member
Posts: 19221
From: Wichita, Kansas
Registered: Jun 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 321
Rate this member

Report this Post06-04-2021 01:46 AM Click Here to See the Profile for WichitaClick Here to Email WichitaSend a Private Message to WichitaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
IP: Logged
Will
Member
Posts: 13785
From: Where you least expect me
Registered: Jun 2000


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 236
Rate this member

Report this Post06-04-2021 08:58 AM Click Here to See the Profile for WillClick Here to Email WillSend a Private Message to WillEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by fierofinder:

Still trying to get my fiero tuned. It's been tuned well enough it drives ok but my tuner says we need the wideband hooked up for fine tuning. So I have it installed and it works but we are not getting the information showing up on the data logs. I need to look up what we did again but we had it hooked up one way and it didn't read so he changed some stuff on the tune and we swapped the pinout of the o2 and now we get a reading but it's not right. Any one have an idea what we are doing wrong?


So you need to know what input the WBO2 is hooked up to, and what arithmetic the .bin does on that raw value before sending it out on the data stream. We can't really help with what you've given us here.
If the .bin is interpreting the WBO2 signal like an A/C pressure transducer... you're going to have a bad day.

Then you can optimize the phase variance on the EPS manifold.
IP: Logged
Blacktree
Member
Posts: 20678
From: Central Florida
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 350
Rate this member

Report this Post06-04-2021 10:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BlacktreeClick Here to visit Blacktree's HomePageClick Here to Email BlacktreeSend a Private Message to BlacktreeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Last I knew, the 7730 ECU wasn't capable of interfacing with a wideband O2 sensor. That's one of the reasons I switched from the 7730 to a Megasquirt.
IP: Logged
jdv
Member
Posts: 220
From:
Registered: Dec 2006


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-04-2021 10:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jdvClick Here to Email jdvSend a Private Message to jdvEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
IP: Logged
fieroguru
Member
Posts: 11524
From: Champaign, IL
Registered: Aug 2003


Feedback score:    (45)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 257
Rate this member

Report this Post06-04-2021 10:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieroguruSend a Private Message to fieroguruEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
As Will said, you want to find an unused 0-5V sensor input to the ECM (not sure if the 7730 has one - digital egr?). The wideband will have an option for a 0-5V sensor output which is then wired into the ECM 0-5V sensor input. You will want to log this 0-5V sensor input in your data stream with RPM and MAP, then apply the math to convert it to the corresponding AFR. Once you have all that being logged with the appropriate math to get AFR, then you can get started with some accurate tuning.

Way back in 2006ish, I ran the 7730 with the a SBC swap. To tune it (didn't used a wideband, except when it was on the dyno) I logged lots of data, dumped it to excel, threw it into a pivot table to consolidate it into the needed +/- by RPM X MAP. It was pretty much a pain... Once I went OBD2 with HP Tuners, the tuning became 10+ times easier as the scanner package does all the math and consolidation for you once you get the custom parameters setup.
IP: Logged
fierofinder
Member
Posts: 632
From: Battle Ground, WA
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-05-2021 12:40 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofinderClick Here to Email fierofinderSend a Private Message to fierofinderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks for the replies. I've been digging through a bunch of old emails and texts trying to piece together where we left off last year. We started with signal wire in f14 but changed it to a3 after he made changes to the file we are using. No clue to the changes he has made to the file.

So if there is no way to hook up the WBo2 for logging and remote tuning I should still be able to get a good tune from emulating so that the WBo2 can be monitored? Haven't tried emulating and not sure if Dave has or would be comfortable doing so.

Tune seems close but it did accelerate better at one point but wouldn't stay running. Since I've had Dave tuning it idles great and doesn't stall out any more but has sluggish acceleration. To much throttle at lower RPMs makes it bog out and it also starts to fall flat above 4500 RPMs. Any suggestions for that are do the fuel curves just need more work?
IP: Logged
fierofinder
Member
Posts: 632
From: Battle Ground, WA
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-05-2021 12:56 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofinderClick Here to Email fierofinderSend a Private Message to fierofinderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
jdv, I checked out that link. Thank you. The S AUJP V6 is what we are using. I will take time to read through the must read info on the v6. I'm assuming Dave has and I know he had someone else more familiar with it helping him and I believe that's why we made the change to pin a3. Currently he is busy with family stuff that's why I'm trying to study up and find what we might be doing wrong. Thanks again.
IP: Logged
jdv
Member
Posts: 220
From:
Registered: Dec 2006


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-05-2021 08:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jdvClick Here to Email jdvSend a Private Message to jdvEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
It is nice that he put info for dis set up on a v6 engine. I used the S AUJP v4 on my 3500 lx9 before I swapped to the 7165 $12 set up.
IP: Logged
Will
Member
Posts: 13785
From: Where you least expect me
Registered: Jun 2000


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 236
Rate this member

Report this Post06-07-2021 10:12 AM Click Here to See the Profile for WillClick Here to Email WillSend a Private Message to WillEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Blacktree:

Last I knew, the 7730 ECU wasn't capable of interfacing with a wideband O2 sensor. That's one of the reasons I switched from the 7730 to a Megasquirt.


The 7730 doesn't control mixture based on the wideband output, but hooking the 0-5V WBO2 output up to an unrelated 0-5V input on the 7730 allows the WBO2 reading to be logged along with the rest of the OBDI data stream... so you get reliable AFR readings that are automatically time-correlated to the rest of your logs. It makes OBDI tuning easier... not easy, just easier.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock