Weird clutch issue by 94blackbird
Started on: 02-16-2015 06:24 PM
Replies: 12 (192 views)
Last post by: 94blackbird on 02-22-2015 09:48 PM
94blackbird

Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-16-2015 06:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 94blackbirdSend a Private Message to 94blackbirdEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Ok, so I drove my fiero (85 4spd) home last night and parked it. This morning I went to leave for work and the car would not go into gear at all. It went from perfect operation to nothing with nothing inbetween. I have bled the system and watched the slave actuate when my helper pressed the clutch pedal. There was no perceptible slack in the actuation, as soon as the pedal started moving so did the slave, and it looked like it was moving the correct amount. There are no discernable leaks in the system either.

I have a spare slave and master to try, but I don't feel that this is ultimately the issue. The pedal has no feel, it just goes straight to the floor even with the slave cylinder actuating.

My question is, is there anything else I could be over looking before I have to look in the bellhousing? To recap, system has been bled, slave moves with master with no perceptible delay or slack, no pedal feel and straight to the floor but pedal returns easily and with no perceptible issue. No perceptible leaks in the system.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Neils88

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 56
Rate this member

Report this Post02-16-2015 06:30 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Neils88Send a Private Message to Neils88Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The slave rod should move about 1 1/8" - 1 1/4". If it's moving that far then it's not a hydraulic problem. It could be a failure of the clutch fork, or the pressure plate. Can you move the clutch lever by hand? Make sure the lever itself didn't become loose.
94blackbird

Leave feedback

Rate this member