Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Want to paint some Fiero Parts, Need some help with Paint Gun choices

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Want to paint some Fiero Parts, Need some help with Paint Gun choices by JohnWPB
Started on: 12-28-2014 12:46 AM
Replies: 32 (1022 views)
Last post by: JohnWPB on 01-09-2015 12:52 AM
JohnWPB

Feedback score:    (21)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 144
Rate this member

Report this Post12-28-2014 12:46 AM Click Here to See the Profile for JohnWPBClick Here to visit JohnWPB's HomePageSend a Private Message to JohnWPBEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Ok, I am a total N00b when it comes to using a spray gun with a compressor to paint something. I am a pro with a rattle can though! The problem is rattle can paint never really hardens.

I just acquired a compressor that is rated at 6 CFM at 40 PSI, and 4.7 at 90 PSI. Not a huge compressor, but decent enough for the amount of small parts that I am wanting to paint I hope.

I have been looking all over Amazon and Harbor freight for guns, and reading TONS of the reviews on all sorts of paint guns. What I can not find is a good comparison to HVLP and regular spray guns. I would prefer a gun with a canister below the gun, and a quick release. The ability to use the canister liners is a huge bonus to me, and the fact that it just seems odd / awkward to me to have the paint above the gun.

I was looking at this one at Harbor Freight, as it is 2 miles from my house and easy to go get. (It says 1.5 CFM on the specs, but in the reviews someone corrects that and says it is 4.0 CFM)

Then there is this one which is a HVLP gun. Reading a bit, the HVLP guns do not have as much over spray, and are more of a tight pattern while painting. Will this give a good automotive finish though? All of the reviews are or people painting fences and kitchen cabinets....