Started on: 04-15-2014 04:57 PM
Replies: 29 (734 views)
Last post by: JohnWPB on 04-18-2014 03:56 PM
JohnWPB

Feedback score:    (21)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 144
Rate this member

Report this Post04-15-2014 04:57 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JohnWPBClick Here to visit JohnWPB's HomePageSend a Private Message to JohnWPBEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Forgive my ignorance, but I have never once worked on anything related to the suspension on a car. Not so much as changing out a shock. My day job is actually in the IT file AKA Computer Geek

That aside, I have been systematically working on one thing on my car at a time pretty much since I started the restore. The car is finally on the road again after around 13 years. 9 years the previous owner had it sitting, and the 4 that I have had it. You can view my step by step build thread here. There are TONS of photo's and videos throughout the thread.

Anyhow, as I mentioned I just got the car on the road. I have found it difficult to handle when I am on a bumpy road. The steering wheel kicks left and right as I hit bumps. I have to keep a pretty good grip on the wheel, so I can keep the car centered in my lane. If I am on a smooth road, the car travels straight and true if I take my hands off of the wheel. I pulled the front left tire today and noticed a lot of old degraded rubber in all the locations where rubber is used. Could all of this bad rubber cause the kicking in the steering wheel, or it it something else / more serious?

Again, this is all new to me, so forgive me. Where is the best place to get all of these bushings? Do they need to be bought separately or as a kit? It looks like there are lots of different sizes and shapes up bushings just where I can see around in the wheel well. I do know that I do not want to use poly bushing. I like the bit softer feel, and no squeaks of the stock rubber style bushings.