Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Fiero no start - what's your guess on the problem?

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Fiero no start - what's your guess on the problem? by tjthorson
Started on: 11-04-2013 07:36 AM
Replies: 15 (1228 views)
Last post by: Fiero_Mark on 11-12-2013 03:41 AM
tjthorson

Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 07:36 AM Click Here to See the Profile for tjthorsonClick Here to visit tjthorson's HomePageSend a Private Message to tjthorsonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Guys,
I have been working on cars for over 25 years.... Rebuilt engines, rear ends, etc.... I have a Fiero (that I actually need to sell) that is driving me nuts. Give me your thoughts on what you would do next.....

Car cranks - no start. spark tested at coil and on two plugs - all good. Compression at least 130 in back three cylinders. Car was running - and just died out. Car did have fuel pump being backfed through ALDL connector. Found the problem there - pin was corroded and broken in the fuel pump relay plug in the engine bay. Now has fuel pump prime on key "on". Fuel pressure >35lbs. (gauge leaks, hard to get accurate reading.)

Steering column replaced due to key not moving to "start" - PO had a toggle switch override. New steering column and ignition switch (should be unrelated - but Im telling all).

So - fuel injectors must not be firing, right? I suspected backfeeding the fuel pump through the ECM might have damaged it, so I replaced that. Still no start. Trying to follow the service manual. I do have an old OTC4000. I noticed I do NOT have any RPM indication on crank. Manual says to apply 12v to 3rd wire on one of the plugs from the ignition module - should show RPM on OTC. Not only does it NOT show RPM, the fuel pump runs.....