Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Temp gauge issue.

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Temp gauge issue. by EvilSqueezles
Started on: 08-27-2013 11:23 PM
Replies: 6 (182 views)
Last post by: EvilSqueezles on 08-28-2013 02:36 PM
EvilSqueezles
Member
Posts: 397
From: Altona, IL
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 11:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for EvilSqueezlesClick Here to Email EvilSqueezlesSend a Private Message to EvilSqueezlesEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
OK. So some of you may remember from earlier posts that I had a speedo issue. It didn't work, checked everything I could think of. Well turned out that the PO had done the old "jumpy temp gauge" fix where you cross the 2 wires behind the instrument cluster. I didn't know about this "fix" yet so I asked myself what the hel! Was going on. I also noticed that one of the words had come apart that they had switched. I out the wires back to the factory locations and reconnected.

After doing that I noticed that my speedometer once again worked, but now my temp gauge wouldn't read a temp. Well that was working before and I figured that wire that had come loose was the power to the speedo. Well I went ahead, took it back apart.... and rerouted the wires back to the "fixed" routing as was done previously but made sure that none of the wires could come apart again.

I still have a working speedometer, and the tempo gauge does rise with the ignition turned on. But still doesn't read temperature.

The only other change I have done is a 160° thermostat. I also noticed that my radiator fan comes on whenever the ignition is on. Could those two things (160 therm and constant fan) just be keeping it that cool? I can't imagine so. Or does it sound like a bad gauge or temp sensor? I'd hate to drive the car with that not reading since I've had overheating issues on previous fiero I've owned. Would it be sensible to just add an aftermarket gauge and sensor that might be more accurate? Anyone have a link for a good, digital perhaps, temp gauge and sensor? Thanks guys.

~James
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 578
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-28-2013 12:18 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
First of all I have to ask why such a low thermostat?

On TheOgre site it says a 160 thermostat may need reprogramming.

Also does your fan stay on because you have the AC switch on?
IP: Logged
EvilSqueezles
Member
Posts: 397
From: Altona, IL
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-28-2013 08:46 AM Click Here to See the Profile for EvilSqueezlesClick Here to Email EvilSqueezlesSend a Private Message to EvilSqueezlesEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Car wont be driven in the winter and sits in traffic quite a bit.

No, my AC isn't on, wish it was that easy lol.

I'm wondering if the fan switch isn't shorted and causing it to think its hot all the time. I've heard of them shorting and never kicking on, never constant on though. For the temp gauge I'm almost wondering if it was just bad timing and the sensor went bad during my rerouting of wires.

[This message has been edited by EvilSqueezles (edited 08-28-2013).]

IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14758
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 282
Rate this member

Report this Post08-28-2013 09:10 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by EvilSqueezles:

For the temp gauge I'm almost wondering if it was just bad timing and the sensor went bad during my rerouting of wires.



I think you also have to swap the wires at the sensor end.

------------------
My World of Wheels Winners (Click on links below)

3.4L Supercharged 87 GT and Super Duty 4 Indy #163

IP: Logged
EvilSqueezles
Member
Posts: 397
From: Altona, IL
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-28-2013 11:26 AM Click Here to See the Profile for EvilSqueezlesClick Here to Email EvilSqueezlesSend a Private Message to EvilSqueezlesEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes you do, you're correct. The PO had done that. So it is still done that way. I'll have to do so.e more digging into this. Does anyone have a link to the site/thread that describes this process by chance? Maybe I don't have the keywords in correctly for PFF search but I'm not finding what I need on the issue. Thanks guys.
IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14758
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 282
Rate this member

Report this Post08-28-2013 12:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by EvilSqueezles:

Yes you do, you're correct. The PO had done that. So it is still done that way. I'll have to do so.e more digging into this. Does anyone have a link to the site/thread that describes this process by chance? Maybe I don't have the keywords in correctly for PFF search but I'm not finding what I need on the issue. Thanks guys.


See here http://www.fierosails.com/tempgage.html
IP: Logged
EvilSqueezles
Member
Posts: 397
From: Altona, IL
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-28-2013 02:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for EvilSqueezlesClick Here to Email EvilSqueezlesSend a Private Message to EvilSqueezlesEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Awesome thank you again.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock