Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  What mods are required to use a F40 behind a 2.8L V6? Is it possible? Adapter plate?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
What mods are required to use a F40 behind a 2.8L V6? Is it possible? Adapter plate? by hdryder
Started on: 08-27-2013 10:35 AM
Replies: 3 (284 views)
Last post by: FIEROFLYER on 08-27-2013 08:33 PM
hdryder
Member
Posts: 674
From: Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Registered: Apr 2011


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 10:35 AM Click Here to See the Profile for hdryderClick Here to Email hdryderSend a Private Message to hdryderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
There is a local ad for a F40 with a G6 V6 bell housing for sale, and he states it can be used in Fieros.

I know the F40 is now used in Fieros with LSx power, but has anyone used it with a 2.8L 60deg., 3.1L or 3.4L?

Thanks for the help.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 11:40 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You can use that Tranny, but I believe you will need an adapter plate.

You will also need to figure out the shifter, bcc this Tranny is out of front wheel drive cars, so the shifter on the tranny end is "backwards" for a Fiero.

I just installed a 5 speed getrag out of a 91 Sunbird and used Dickman's kit to convert it from FWD to RWD.

But yes it's possible.


P.S. you might also have to figure out a slave cylinder mod...im not sure if the Fiero Clutch line can hook up and work directly with the F40's slave Cylinder or if you need to rig something up. Im sure someone on here should know.
IP: Logged
Archie
Member
Posts: 9420
From: Las Vegas, NV
Registered: Dec 1999


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 545
Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 12:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ArchieClick Here to visit Archie's HomePageClick Here to Email ArchieSend a Private Message to ArchieEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Drop Archie an EMail at Archie@v8archie.com & he can tell you exactly what you'll need to do that swap.

BTW, you don't need an adapter plate.

A
IP: Logged
FIEROFLYER
Member
Posts: 3974
From:
Registered: Oct 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 179
Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 08:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FIEROFLYERSend a Private Message to FIEROFLYEREdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Nope no adapter but keep in mind the F40 speedo out put is 60,000 PPM compared to the Fiero 4,000 ppm.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock