Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Fuel pump and the ECU

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Fuel pump and the ECU by 1986GTV8
Started on: 08-25-2013 01:06 PM
Replies: 3 (81 views)
Last post by: trotterlg on 08-25-2013 06:59 PM
1986GTV8
Member
Posts: 1259
From: Orlando,FL,USA
Registered: Mar 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 01:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 1986GTV8Send a Private Message to 1986GTV8Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I am running a remote elect fuel pump for my V8 install.

Do I need to use the computer? Will the oil pressure sensor work without running through the computer?

Do I need the ECU to run my fuel pump using the Fiero fuel pump relay?

Thanks in advance for your help.

John

------------------
1986 GT 355 Chevy 450+hp

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17057
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 03:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The two outside pins of your oil gauge/switch sender can be used to switch on your fuel pump. No ECM is needed.
IP: Logged
Blacktree
Member
Posts: 20715
From: Central Florida
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 350
Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 05:54 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BlacktreeClick Here to visit Blacktree's HomePageClick Here to Email BlacktreeSend a Private Message to BlacktreeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You can use the oil pressure switch to activate your fuel pump relay. Although I'd suggest having a manual switch as a backup. The oil pressure senders are not very reliable, in my experience.
IP: Logged
trotterlg
Member
Posts: 1378
From: WA
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 06:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for trotterlgClick Here to Email trotterlgSend a Private Message to trotterlgEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I just did this, the wires are under the center console, I put a momentary push button switch in parallel with the oil pump senson switch so I can prime the carb. I moved the fuel pump relay fromthe engine compartment firewall to where the computer use to be. Very easy. Larry

[This message has been edited by trotterlg (edited 08-25-2013).]

IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock