Fuel door lever by racingfortheson
Started on: 08-23-2013 08:48 PM
Replies: 4 (973 views)
Last post by: olejoedad on 08-24-2013 08:46 AM
racingfortheson

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-23-2013 08:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for racingforthesonSend a Private Message to racingforthesonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So I'm new to Fiero's and I have looked all over the forum but can't find anything about my problem. I think my fuel door lever is broke or missing. On the piller new to the driver where the lever goes is a hole with a wire (about as thick as a coat hanger) in the shape of a lever, but when I move it it doesn't pull lock pin back. Right now the door lock plate is bent back so it doesn't lock. I can't find this lever for sale anywhere. Could someone post pick of what it is I'm looking for or if you had the same problem a "How to" on fixings it?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Fiero84Freak

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 66
Rate this member

Report this Post08-23-2013 10:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Fiero84FreakSend a Private Message to Fiero84FreakEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I guess I'm just a tad confused by your very last part as I'm not overly sure how the fuel door lock could be "bent" unless somebody tried to force it open, so I'll just kind of go over the whole thing.

The fuel door is usually operated by the fuel door release lever located in the driver's B pillar. It is an L (well.. kind of an L) shape lever that actually pulls the cable towards the back of the car, not outwards. If you're tugging on the cable just straight out, then you may not be applying the same tensile strength and direction that the lever would apply if it were in place.