Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Any advice before my first substantial work on my own car?... motor and trans mounts

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Any advice before my first substantial work on my own car?... motor and trans mounts by Corvus
Started on: 08-23-2013 12:26 PM
Replies: 6 (175 views)
Last post by: Grantman on 08-23-2013 04:54 PM
Corvus

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-23-2013 12:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for CorvusSend a Private Message to CorvusEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Alright guys, this is my first time doing anything substantial to '88 Formula on my own. I will be replacing motor mount, dog bone, and trans mounts (all standard from Rock Auto). I have a Haynes repair manual and (what I believe are) the necessary jack stands, obligatory blocks of wood, tools, etc. I am giving myself plenty of time. The current plan is to do it in the order of motor, dog bone, trans.

Is there any advice that anyone would have before I do this thing? I haven't done any sort of major car repair in about four years and I'm kinda nervous.

Thanks,
AJ
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fierosound

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 286
Rate this member

Report this Post08-23-2013 12:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Getting yourself a Service Manual wouldn't hurt, but a Haynes is OK.

Dogbone - first off, last back on. I don't think the order of the others really matters.

------------------
My World of Wheels Winners (Click on links below)

3.4L Supercharged 87 GT and Super Duty 4 Indy #163

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 08-23-2013).]

f85gtron

Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member