Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Engine stumbling on acceleration

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Engine stumbling on acceleration by 4thfiero
Started on: 08-19-2013 08:23 PM
Replies: 18 (652 views)
Last post by: 4thfiero on 08-27-2013 10:36 AM
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-19-2013 08:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So I had a code 23, replaced my MIT sensor and ran the engine, no more 23 code, but i did find some breaks in the vacuum lines thats causing the code 32...Will that kill my power???

Also when i give the throttle a quick "kick" accel fast for just a second, the engine bogs down like its about to stall and THEN revs..like a good delay in accell...MY POOR CAR, IM REALLY UPSET SHE'S HAVING SO MANY TROUBLES....but i guess thats too be expected from a full rebuild and frame swap :s

Any have any clue what might be causing a stumbling issue on acceleration??

p.s. (im assuming after driving it on the street the code 32 will come back)
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
raysr11
Member
Posts: 1254
From: Concrete, WA
Registered: Nov 2008


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-19-2013 11:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for raysr11Send a Private Message to raysr11Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Vacuum leak could cause that, but most evident with vacuum leak is high idle. Might check the TPS too.

[This message has been edited by raysr11 (edited 08-19-2013).]

IP: Logged
Damorgan
Member
Posts: 93
From: Lexington, Tennessee. USA
Registered: Aug 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 12:15 AM Click Here to See the Profile for DamorganClick Here to Email DamorganSend a Private Message to DamorganEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Im having the same issue...just not throwing any codes...as far as I know but I was told that I needed a new ignition coil and to get my TB cleaned. The TPS would be a good place to check and cracks in the vacuum lines will attribute to some power loss and running rich
IP: Logged
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 09:10 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Can those lines be repaired enough with hockey tape or duct tape? Enough that they wont break under pressure and keep the air sealed???

I dont have enough funds atm to buy that steel line kit off Fiero Store

[This message has been edited by 4thfiero (edited 08-20-2013).]

IP: Logged
2.5
Member
Posts: 42389
From: Southern MN
Registered: May 2007


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 180
Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 09:15 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 2.5Send a Private Message to 2.5Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Some kind of tape that can take heat might help temporary. Aluminum ducting tape perhaps.

[This message has been edited by 2.5 (edited 08-20-2013).]

IP: Logged
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 11:28 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Even normal duct tape or hockey tape would work though? i dont think that part of the engine gets hot enough to melt much...if those lines are plastic anyways...and it got hot anough, the plastic lines would melt too. Kay i'll get some kinda tape to try and fix it, thanks guys!!
IP: Logged
FieroTony
Member
Posts: 1175
From: Conowingo, MD
Registered: Feb 2012


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 12:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FieroTonyClick Here to Email FieroTonySend a Private Message to FieroTonyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I saw it in passing at an AutoZone store. Didn't stop to look at it so I don't know what it entails or includes. But it was black plastic vacuum tubing. Will most definitely take a return trip to look at it.
IP: Logged
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 01:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I was told PVC tape that like plumbers use works really well!
IP: Logged
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 07:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
SHOOT!!! ....i taped all my vacuume lines...everythings good, it helped a little, but STILL!....stumbles on accel and i feel a loss of power...

Anyone else have a different suggestion???
IP: Logged
stefanosg
Member
Posts: 92
From: Indialantic,Florida,USA
Registered: Jul 2013


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 07:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for stefanosgClick Here to visit stefanosg's HomePageClick Here to Email stefanosgSend a Private Message to stefanosgEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
MAP sensor helped me out alot.
IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17057
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 08:53 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The MAP sensor is the #1 sensor that the engine uses to determine how much fuel to inject. If there are restrictions between the intake manifold and the MAP that could cause problems. A bad MAP sensor could also.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-21-2013 10:17 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Okay i'll check the MAP sensor, wouldn't the ecu throw me a MAP code if it was the MAP sensor though??? Just wondering
IP: Logged
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-21-2013 07:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Just plugged in a new map sensor, ....nope....still stumbles on accel...

Pls more suggestions!!! Really appreciate everyones help!
IP: Logged
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-21-2013 07:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Kay...i was just on the fiero store...i noticed that there is supposed to be a gasket from the egr valve to the cross over pipe...i recently took that apart and im pretty sure it didnt even have a gasket on my end....could that be my issue???

http://www.fierostore.com/P...spx?s=68299&lp=60813
IP: Logged
LornesGT
Member
Posts: 1323
From: Granite City, IL
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-21-2013 11:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LornesGTSend a Private Message to LornesGTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes exhaust leaks can change your o2 sensor readings and change fuel air ratio.
IP: Logged
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-22-2013 08:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Im out at Falcon lake right now so a couple hours away from my Fiero, but im thinking this might be the closest thing that makes sense for what im experiencing...lack of power...code 32, and my engine sounds "meaner" than usual...an exhaust leak will make the engine sound louder yes? lol...

Im praying I have finally found my gremlin..
IP: Logged
LornesGT
Member
Posts: 1323
From: Granite City, IL
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-22-2013 08:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LornesGTSend a Private Message to LornesGTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
More annoying to me, leaks don't sound like the rumble I like to hear.
IP: Logged
2.5
Member
Posts: 42389
From: Southern MN
Registered: May 2007


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 180
Rate this member

Report this Post08-23-2013 01:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 2.5Send a Private Message to 2.5Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Egr for sure makes sense, if not that.
Another try maybe TPS.
IP: Logged
4thfiero
Member
Posts: 801
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 10:36 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 4thfieroClick Here to Email 4thfieroSend a Private Message to 4thfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey guys, so i replaced a few gaskets around my EGR. My performance has increased and the stumbling issue has resolved itself about 80-90 percent, but its still not perfect. if i REALLY quick shot the throttle it still wants to stumble. So im thinking maybe there is another leak somewhere else? One of my exhaust pipe brackets near the tail pipe end broke and its hanging, so maybe there is another point where the air is leaking???

TPS was not the issue either.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock