Yet another 3800 Series 2 Swap underway by DPoppelll
Started on: 08-07-2013 11:08 PM
Replies: 24 (1103 views)
Last post by: DPoppelll on 08-29-2013 08:08 PM
DPoppelll

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-07-2013 11:08 PM Click Here to See the Profile for DPoppelllSend a Private Message to DPoppelllEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I'm starting a L67 Swap for my '84 Fiero. I picked the engine (and trans) from a '99 Riviera. Living in CA, it's going to take as whole lot of work to get this swap legal and smog ready. Lucky for me I'm a student worker at one of the Smog Referee stations, so I've got a great resource for information on how to make the swap pass.

Now for the questions:

My first problem is that I can't seem to get any good information on F23 vs F40 transmission swaps. I'm leaning towards the F40 only for the fact that it's pretty cheap on eBay. I wouldn't be opposed to buying an F23 from a salvage yard (I've become a frequent flyer at Pick Ur Part's 50% off days), but I'm not sure what all I'll need to make the trans compatible with the Fiero and really what car I could pick one from.

Secondly, are there any sites that provide performance engine parts that are C.A.R.B. compliant? I've been on ZZP performance's site, but I can't find any information on the site that refers to the CA legality of these parts.

Just for fun I'll post some of the pictures of what I've got.

First... The customary engine bay shot. They made me smile for it.
This images is larger than 153600 bytes. Click to view.

Then, of course, I had to be ridiculous.

out with the old. The engine was in decent shape, but the electrical was terrible and I figured why not swap it all?

the new engine... my advice; don't bring yours home in a closed vehicle like a Blazer. It came with the SC but I removed it to reduce the weight for when we hand lifted (legs almost gave out) the engine out of the car.