Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  electronic cruise issues. Not sure what it is.

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
electronic cruise issues. Not sure what it is. by John316
Started on: 07-24-2013 02:53 PM
Replies: 10 (219 views)
Last post by: phonedawgz on 07-31-2013 08:39 AM
John316
Member
Posts: 507
From: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Registered: Nov 2009


Feedback score:    (51)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-24-2013 02:53 PM Click Here to See the Profile for John316Click Here to Email John316Send a Private Message to John316Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have been working to get the electronic cruise servo unit to work with my 3800. I got it all wired up based on the instructions I was given and now when car is started the cruise control makes the car accelerate (cruise unit cable just starts opening the throttle body like I am accelerating). This is with the cruise disengaged. I have an OBD2 unit hooked up and can see what it is doing. If I unplug the cruise unit it goes back to normal and runs smoothly. Any help or suggestion would be appreciated.

Thanks Jonathon.

[This message has been edited by John316 (edited 07-24-2013).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17052
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post07-25-2013 08:25 AM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
OBD2 scanner won't tell you anything about it.

Check the wires at the servo to see if they are connected to the correct switch. Use a trouble light.


Pin A - Gray - Gets power whenever the cruise switch is on

Pin B - Dk Blue - Gets power when the set button is pressed (and the cruise switch is on)

Pin C - Gray/Black - Gets power when the Resume/Accelerate button is pressed (and the cruise switch is on)

Pin D - Brown/White (or Purple) has power whenever the cruise switch is on, and the brake is not depressed

Pin G - White (or Lt. Blue) has power whenever the brake pedal is pressed

(My guess is the Gray and the Gray/Black wires are swapped)
IP: Logged
SERGE144
Member
Posts: 153
From: Venice, FL
Registered: Nov 2002


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-25-2013 08:44 AM Click Here to See the Profile for SERGE144Click Here to Email SERGE144Send a Private Message to SERGE144Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I had success with my installation when I used a relay to provide a ground signal to the module.
//www.fiero.nl/forum/A...110502-2-102406.html
IP: Logged
John316
Member
Posts: 507
From: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Registered: Nov 2009


Feedback score:    (51)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-25-2013 08:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for John316Click Here to Email John316Send a Private Message to John316Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I am somewhat color blind and greys and blacks look very similar. I will check the wires on Monday.
IP: Logged
John316
Member
Posts: 507
From: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Registered: Nov 2009


Feedback score:    (51)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-26-2013 04:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for John316Click Here to Email John316Send a Private Message to John316Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
All the wires to the servo checked out. What should I check next?
IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17052
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post07-26-2013 09:43 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
If all the wires terminate at the correct pins and give the functions they are supposed to as checked with a trouble light, however the Servo when activated does nothing but accelerates, then the servo would be bad.

I however would re-check that the premise of that statement was correct before assuming the conclusion.
IP: Logged
John316
Member
Posts: 507
From: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Registered: Nov 2009


Feedback score:    (51)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-29-2013 07:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for John316Click Here to Email John316Send a Private Message to John316Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I just figured out how to make an idiot light and checked everything and it works correctly. The servo I am using has the initials AR on it. Is this the right one?
IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17052
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post07-29-2013 10:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes.

If all the inputs are working correctly, and the servo goes into an acceleration mode as soon as you turn it on, then the problem has to be with the servo.
IP: Logged
John316
Member
Posts: 507
From: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Registered: Nov 2009


Feedback score:    (51)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-29-2013 10:15 PM Click Here to See the Profile for John316Click Here to Email John316Send a Private Message to John316Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Okay. Besides the AR unit is there others options? I have a few different ones laying on the shelf. Thanks again PhoneDawgz.
IP: Logged
John316
Member
Posts: 507
From: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Registered: Nov 2009


Feedback score:    (51)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-30-2013 11:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for John316Click Here to Email John316Send a Private Message to John316Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Darn smart phones. Double post sorry.

[This message has been edited by John316 (edited 07-30-2013).]

IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17052
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post07-31-2013 08:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You can try them. I am not sure if you will have problems with a different labeled one. It seems like they are all wired the same.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock