Very sluggish take off power. by Rezol
Started on: 07-21-2013 09:23 PM
Replies: 7 (329 views)
Last post by: Gall757 on 07-29-2013 02:20 PM
Rezol

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-21-2013 09:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RezolSend a Private Message to RezolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hello folks, new here (and to fiero's) but not to auto's (mechanic by profession for 10+ years). Recently purchased an 86 GT, automatic. Have been doing some work to it and have run into a roadblock of sorts. I have very low to none take off power. Sounds/feels like low its starving for fuel, however after getting up to speed, right before it shifts into 2nd and after that it runs and has, what I imagine, normal power for the small 6 cyl with an auto. I do not have fuel pressure reading at this time because I can not find my guage, but will get those numbers asap. I do keep getting a code for the MAP sensor but it checks out good (using voltmeter and vacuum pump). I have removed EGR and made block off plates for the exhaust and intake and plugged vacuum lines for it. Vacuum canister is rusted out so I have the line that feeds it plugged. PCV is good, and can find no other vacuum leaks. Transmission seems to shift fine, but firm. Have messed with TV cable and while it does change the shift points (as intended) it doesn't affect my problem at all. I have checked and set the timing, as well as the TPS just to make sure. Any help, ideas, or general things to check or eliminate would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Mark
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Kevin87FieroGT

Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-22-2013 07:27 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Kevin87FieroGTSend a Private Message to Kevin87FieroGTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Maybe plugged cat.

Edit: possible O2 sensor.

[This message has been edited by Kevin87FieroGT (edited 07-22-2013).]

Slow6