Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
  Is there any mechanical difference between the 86 and 87 suspension?

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Is there any mechanical difference between the 86 and 87 suspension? by JohnWPB
Started on: 09-25-2018 01:52 PM
Replies: 15 (328 views)
Last post by: Dennis LaGrua on 09-27-2018 05:22 PM
JohnWPB

Feedback score:    (21)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 144
Rate this member

Report this Post09-25-2018 01:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JohnWPBClick Here to visit JohnWPB's HomePageSend a Private Message to JohnWPBEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have been driving my 86 Fiero for a couple years now with KYB shocks and struts. 100% of the suspension on the car is brand new. The car drives and has a nice feeling and I thought everything was normal.

I just bought a 1987 with KYB struts and shocks and the handling seems far far superior to mine. The 87 does have front and rear sway bars installed on it. Do they really make that drastic of a difference?

The best example I can give is driving 45 miles an hour down the road and changing lanes as quickly and safely as possible. My 86 has a bit of swagger but still feels pretty tight. I have to turn the wheel a couple inches and then turn it back a couple of inches to straighten out again after changing lanes.

On the 87 I swear it seems like I just have to turn the wheel quickly a half inch or so before it just jumps into the other lane and then 1/2 inch back to straighten out. Is this all just due to the addition of the sway bars?

The two cars handle differently like night and day.

[This message has been edited by JohnWPB (edited 09-25-2018).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Shho13

Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-25-2018 01:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shho13Send a Private Message to Shho13Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post