Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
  My "new" Blue 87 GT - Progress so far, and work left to do.

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
My "new" Blue 87 GT - Progress so far, and work left to do. by CavScout
Started on: 04-18-2016 08:40 PM
Replies: 21 (319 views)
Last post by: CavScout on 04-24-2016 10:22 AM
CavScout

Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-18-2016 08:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for CavScoutSend a Private Message to CavScoutEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hello all.
Well, I've just managed 500 miles on my "new" 87 GT.
Some of you may have read about this car when it was in the mall. (And where most of the "before" pics came from originally as I didn't take many LOL)
For a bit of background on why this is "the" car I've always wanted...

I graduated High School in 1987.
In 1986/87 I worked for a time at a local Pontiac dealership (Royal Oak MI) part time after school as a car porter. (Right after I got my drivers license.)
My job? Pick up new cars at various lots and bring them back to the dealership for prep. Drive cars from dealership's prep shop to the showroom. (Located a couple blocks away.)
Light vehicle prep. Peeling plastic wrap off stuff, unwrap items for the mechanics prior to installation, etc. etc. I was a gopher. But it was way cool as a 16 year old to drive all these brand new cars.
So, there's my Fiero link, and why having an 87 is something I've always wanted.
Now of course I have my winter beater (87 Sport, Iron Duke auto rough but reliable - and great in the snow for my commute to work.) my "old" summer car (84 SE. Nice car, solid. But a stick, and for some reason I'm not fond of it, mostly the lack of a "year" connection.) and now my 87 GT.