Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
  Should I get it or back off and keep hunting?

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Should I get it or back off and keep hunting? by virtuetovice
Started on: 09-29-2014 03:24 AM
Replies: 39 (810 views)
Last post by: virtuetovice on 10-13-2014 11:11 PM
virtuetovice

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-29-2014 03:24 AM Click Here to See the Profile for virtuetoviceSend a Private Message to virtuetoviceEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So, let me start off by saying I'm new to the Fiero world. I've always been excited every time I've seen one, whether its ragged out or showroom fresh. Well after a random decision to search the CL, I stumble upon an ad for a Fiero for a whopping 750 beans. The picture depicts a complete vehicle with a solid, damage free body. The paint seems to be oxidized. Oh, and T-tops! I'm a sucker for T-tops all day. The ad states that it needs a fuel pump. I thought, not bad. So I decided to go have a look in person. It turns out that the pics told a pretty much true story. There is one small damaged area on the corner of the frunk lid[im just calling it that] and a small crack under the tail light. The T-tops have been caulked shut so I am assuming it was leaking. It did not seem to have any rust on any of the metal parts of the frame worth worrying about. Also, as advertised, the engine fired right up after gas being dumped into the carb. The interior was pushing decent. The seats are worn and have some holes and some of the vinyl has shrunk and started peeling. It is an automatic, Iron Duke, 126k and a previous owner put the GT body on it. I have decided that I am going out this week to put a fuel pump on it and take it for a drive. If I like it, should I go for it? Also, is there anything specific to the Fiero that I should be looking for such as hidden areas prone to rusting?