Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
  HUD from a Bonneville - wiring harness

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
HUD from a Bonneville - wiring harness by DKcustoms
Started on: 09-20-2014 02:13 PM
Replies: 3 (255 views)
Last post by: johnyrottin on 09-20-2014 08:22 PM
DKcustoms
Member
Posts: 1071
From: Central NY
Registered: Oct 2013


Feedback score:    (15)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-20-2014 02:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for DKcustomsSend a Private Message to DKcustomsEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I am taking the HUD out of the 2001 Bonneville SSEi that I have for the motor.

I would like to attempt to get the HUD to work in the Fiero at some point down the road, but I need to salvage the Bonneville's wiring harness first.

Should I cut the harness after the HUD connector itself, or should I try to salvage it down at the bottom where the wire junction is?
I haven't done any research as to which wires are which at that junction.

I will be asking on pontiacbonnevilleclub.com as well

HUD switch


HUD connector


wiring harness junction in the footwheel under the steering wheel
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
johnyrottin
Member
Posts: 5238
From: Northwest Florida
Registered: Oct 2007


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 84
Rate this member

Report this Post09-20-2014 05:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for johnyrottinClick Here to Email johnyrottinSend a Private Message to johnyrottinEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Here are some former HUD threads. They may lead you to some helpful insight:

//www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum1/HTML/089002.html
//www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum1/HTML/093024.html
//www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum2/HTML/124741.html
//www.fiero.nl/forum/A...130314-2-120161.html

There are tons more. Just search under HUD in active and archives. Me, I us my android with the HUD ap still.
IP: Logged
jscott1
Member
Posts: 21674
From: Houston, TX , USA
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score:    (15)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 415
Rate this member

Report this Post09-20-2014 07:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jscott1Send a Private Message to jscott1Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Whatever the HUD plugs into probably doesn't exist in your Fiero so you are safe to cut. Unless you plan on installing the Body Control Module and every other piece of electronics over from the Bonny? The old 90s HUDs are easy because everything is analog. Once they start talking to the BCM and sending serial data that's where I'm out. There are a couple of smart people on here that can figure it out, but I'm not one of them.

IP: Logged
johnyrottin
Member
Posts: 5238
From: Northwest Florida
Registered: Oct 2007


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 84
Rate this member

Report this Post09-20-2014 08:22 PM Click Here to See the Profile for johnyrottinClick Here to Email johnyrottinSend a Private Message to johnyrottinEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Here is what I found:

https://www.google.com/sear...Li4KABg&ved=0CB8QsAQ

Try there for a start.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock