New to forum and Fieros by Oopssorry
Started on: 12-04-2013 03:02 AM
Replies: 13 (374 views)
Last post by: Oopssorry on 12-06-2013 02:18 AM
Oopssorry

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-04-2013 03:02 AM Click Here to See the Profile for OopssorrySend a Private Message to OopssorryEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hello, I just recently picked up a '86 Iron Duke, 5 speed , notchback. I'm pretty new to Fieros, my dad has always had one or two, but they have never ran. I bought mine about a month ago and have loved driving it. That is when it's in driving condition. The thing has an appetite for my alt-water pump-crank belt. Each one has lasted about a week before snapping, usually while I'm driving back from work and such. When I bought the car it had shot engine mounts, if you rocked the car back and fourth you could actually watch the engine move. I had spent all my cash on the car, but a check was soon to come, so I drove the car as is, and shortly there after, I snapped a belt. Pay day came and I fixed the engine mounts and some other issues I should have noticed the day I bought it. The PO had incorrectly installed the Alt bracket, which lead to the bolts holding it to the block backing out. This, coupled with the bad engine mounts, caused the bracket to bend and twist. GM made that bracket pretty solid! It took me and my brother in law hours to reshape that (all we had was a vice and a "Thor Hammer"). While under the car we found that the mounts were so bad that they had allowed the crank to partially rest on a rubber bumpstop (?) that was located on the frame. After all of this was fixed and a new belt was thrown on, I had thought the issue fixed. But I was wrong, and two belts later I need help. There's a suspicious piece of metal right above the crank pulley, and I'm thinking it might be cutting into my belt (it does not cut my AC belt). I have a haynes manual, but can find nothing identifying this