Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
  How do you strap your Fiero to a trailer?

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
How do you strap your Fiero to a trailer? by CowsPatoot
Started on: 09-26-2013 02:36 PM
Replies: 18 (899 views)
Last post by: Bloozberry on 09-29-2013 07:39 AM
CowsPatoot

Feedback score:    (29)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 84
Rate this member

Report this Post09-26-2013 02:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for CowsPatootClick Here to visit CowsPatoot's HomePageSend a Private Message to CowsPatootEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
First off...I tow almost exclusively 84-87 Fieros....88s have different tie down points, and are much more obvious IMHO.

I have been towing Fieros for 20 years now...but in the last 5 years or so I have been doing quite a bit of it with the same trailer (finally got my own trailer). I have towed at least a half dozen different Fieros on this trailer, and have probably totaled about 25k miles doing it. I have done it enough times that I know exactly where to position the car on the trailer for the perfect balance...and my straps are usually already set to the correct length since the last car I towed was probably a Fiero as well. I have strapped every one of them down the same way, and have never had a hint of an issue.....until last night.

I am concerned about the back....not the front. This is how I have always tied them down:

Last night, we loaded whiteandnerdy27's car in Dahlonega, GA (he broke it at Run For The Hills). I strapped it down as usual. He double-checked it. We drove about 2 miles. We both confirmed the straps. We jumped on the expressway and head home. At the first gas stop, we find this: