Fiero Endurance Race Car by Fiero Racer 64
Started on: 01-20-2011 01:56 PM
Replies: 36
Last post by: ManMadeChickens on 07-08-2011 04:15 AM
Fiero Racer 64

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-20-2011 01:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Fiero Racer 64Send a Private Message to Fiero Racer 64Direct Link to This Post
Hello PFF, Well as the subject states I am building / racing a 1985 Fiero GT / 2.8 Auto for endurance races at our local 2.17 mile road course. Let me first tell you that I am new to Fieros. Never been around them, road in one, or worked on one till now. I've been on the board for a few months reading as much as I could and learning more than my brain can retain. Well a little about what I am doing. The race we have is a 15 hr endurance race that was similar to the 24 hrs of Lemons races. We had to purchase a car and have it raceable for supposedly less than $500.00 (yeah right) excluding saftey items. Well a co-worker had this car avaialble. It had sit for 2 years b/c he said it wouldn't run. He thought the fuel pump was junk. I decided to buy it for $300.00 in June 2010 (our race was at the end of August). It wasn't in to bad of shape, was in a front end wreck that crumpled the left front bumper structure. But for what I was going to use it for it didn't matter as long as the suspension was hurt. The day before I went and picked it up the owner happend to check the distibutor and noticed the cap was cracked. Changed the cap and yep, started right up. Well we had already agreed on a price so he honored that price. So we went and picked it up and started pretty much gutting it trying to get it as light at possible. We put a roll cage in it and racing seat, did the grand am brake swap front and rear, master cylinder change, poly mounts and suspension bushings, added rear sway bar, aluminum cradle bushings, all new ball joints, new wheel studs, new fuel pump, shift kit in tranny, match ported exhaust manifolds, new