Started on: 04-30-2008 09:14 PM
Replies: 47
Last post by: stickpony on 10-20-2010 12:35 PM
fieroguru

Feedback score:    (45)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 258
Rate this member

Report this Post04-30-2008 09:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieroguruSend a Private Message to fieroguruDirect Link to This Post
With the rash of getrag failures in the last several months, I thought it would be a good time to post some information specific to the 92-94 FWD getrags... the tranny I have been running since May 2005 behind my SBC.

This tranny came behind the 3.1 V6 in the 92-94 Cavaliers, has the same ratios/final drive as the Fiero getrag, has the larger/stronger spider gears in the diff, uses a hydraulic throwout bearing (HTOB) and a reluctor style VSS.

This transmission is available rebuilt from ManTrans with the part # MT-32115.
$750 Rebuilt MT-32115 transmission - does not include core charge or shipping
$250 Core Charge
$150 Approximate cost for shipping - my cost to ship from FL to KY.

If you puirchase a rebuilt transmission, more than likely it will not come with the Hydraulic Thowout Bearing (HTOB), the VSS, VSS pigtail or any of the shift brackets. Here is a breakdown of all the parts and listed prices for them. With careful searching, you might be able to score some of these parts used and save some $$$.
$108.99 Throwout Bearing - Autozone part # 619005
~$2.00 Brass hydraulic coupler – most hardware stores
$58.99 VSS - Autozone part# SU1015
$17.32 VSS Pigtail – GM# 15547452
$75.00 SGI-5 Dakota Digital speedometer interface
$75.00 FWD Shifter conversion brackets
$65.00 FWD Shift Cable Bracket for the HTOB tranny – no slave mount
$24 Getrag Select Cable Bracket – same as fiero getrag

$426.30 TOTAL - prices subject to change - Does not include the cost for the tranny.

Throwout Bearing - Autozone part # 619005 and costs $108.99: