3.8 engine swap by bumble bee
Started on: 11-01-2007 09:58 AM
Replies: 7
Last post by: FIEROFLYER on 11-01-2007 06:48 PM
bumble bee

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-01-2007 09:58 AM Click Here to See the Profile for bumble beeSend a Private Message to bumble beeDirect Link to This Post
First off hello to all. i am new to the whole fiero/ forum deal. i just purchased a 1986 1/2 fiero gt with the 2.8 v6. this thing doesn't have any rust or dents. i am looking to put a bigger power plant in but was wondering which would be the best. i was thinking the 3.8 series II with s/c. but i need to know how much cutting off the frame there would be because i am not so good at cutting or wilding. also i was wondering if i needed to upgrade any of the other components if i get a bigger engine or if the stock items would all still work?
any comments and hints would be most helpful. thanks o much .
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
James Bond 007

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 263
Rate this member

Report this Post11-01-2007 10:54 AM Click Here to See the Profile for James Bond 007Send a Private Message to James Bond 007Direct Link to This Post
Welcome to the forum.The 3.8 SC series II is a good choice,you'll have speed and fuel economey,a V8 Corvett motor will allso fit,but how often do you see a Corvett at the wrecking yard?A Cadliac North Star will allso fit.You'll have to sacrifice some of your MPG,(gas economey) for a v8.If it's an automatic,then no cutting of the frame is needed,but Im prety sure the manuel version needs the frame cut and welded.You can have any welding shop do that,when you pull the motor.Just make sure you get the correct 3800,some motors have a smaller super charger.
Wait for pics to load(not mine).

darkhorizon

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 451
Rate this member