Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  Here we go Again Hud Wireing H.U.D

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Here we go Again Hud Wireing H.U.D by ig88vsbobafett
Started on: 03-05-2006 11:33 AM
Replies: 26
Last post by: PaulJK on 04-19-2006 08:47 AM
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2006 11:33 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post
I just pulled a HUD from a 93 pontiac bonneville ive bench tested it
the only thing i am having a problem right now is where the VSS wire goes
the fiero has like 4 VSS wires

VSS High
VSS Low
VSS Imput
VSS to Crusie and ECM
I just need to know where to plug in the VSS for the hud



IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
TK
Member
Posts: 10011
From:
Registered: Aug 2002


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 200
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2006 11:43 AM Click Here to See the Profile for TKSend a Private Message to TKDirect Link to This Post
You are probably going to have to tap into the speedo circut board for a 4000 PPM signal. The output of the Fiero speedometer is 2000 (going to the ECM and cruise model) and is too slow. Does your HUB have a jumper for 4000 or 2000 PPM?

The VSS output from the trans won't drive the HUD without some buffering.

IP: Logged
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2006 12:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post
This is what i have for wiring (my colors are a little diff)

Is the VSS High the bufferd one ? C1-S (Yellow)

Also i am powering the hud with a 12v battrey pack and running wires to the fiero wires. (Yes the car has power and is running when i am testing it) would this cause a problem and would i have to get power from the car ?

IP: Logged
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2006 07:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post
So has any one used one of these before ?
IP: Logged
jscott1
Member
Posts: 21676
From: Houston, TX , USA
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score:    (15)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 415
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2006 10:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jscott1Send a Private Message to jscott1Direct Link to This Post
That is the exact HUD I am using. I don't understand the part about the battery...why are you not powering it from the car? I already answered your VSS question in a PM, but for everyone else, the M or N pins are the buffered VSS. The S pin is not buffered. My HUD works perfectly off the buffered VSS.
IP: Logged
Cajun
Member
Posts: 1517
From: Youngsville, La., USA
Registered: Dec 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2006 10:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for CajunClick Here to Email CajunSend a Private Message to CajunDirect Link to This Post
I have been considering installing a HUD unit but have been a little reluctant as I had not seen any traffic in the subject on the forum. But from the above comments I gather that some of you have either installed or consider installing.

Guess my next question is this: is there a write up on the installation, additional information, etc. You know tips on what one has learned from their own installation.

IP: Logged
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2006 03:40 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by jscott1:

That is the exact HUD I am using. I don't understand the part about the battery...why are you not powering it from the car? I already answered your VSS question in a PM, but for everyone else, the M or N pins are the buffered VSS. The S pin is not buffered. My HUD works perfectly off the buffered VSS.

I am using the Cavalier Digital dash what i really need to know is the wire buffered before or after it comes off the speedo ?

ive tryed pluging is the brown wire (C1-M) plus the power and ground wires but only 0mph shows still

i was just use using my jumper pack to make sure it works before i cut into my harness again

IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2006 06:25 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
Jon, I was looking for the thread where you posted a pic of the speedo buffer and showed which pin was the one to use. Do you have it ? (at least i THINK it was you )

Cajun: Try doing a Search in the Technical topics and also the Technical archives.

Here is some info that might help:

http://www.fieroaddiction.com/speedo.html

[This message has been edited by PaulJK (edited 03-06-2006).]

IP: Logged
jscott1
Member
Posts: 21676
From: Houston, TX , USA
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score:    (15)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 415
Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2006 03:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jscott1Send a Private Message to jscott1Direct Link to This Post
Here's that speedo board information...

As for the speedometer board (84 non cruise, 85-88):

A - not used
B - not used

C - not used
D - not used
E - not used
F - not used

G - not used
H - not used
J - not used

K - not used
L - not used
M - 4000 pulse per mile buffered VSS from speedometer board (88 only)

N - 4000 pulse per mile buffered VSS from speedometer board (86-87) ?? per Gary W
P - black/white - ground
R - puple/white - from the VSS (low)
S - Yellow - from the VSS (high)

T - yellow/black - Ignition power to cluster
U - Dark green/white - 2000 pulse per mile buffered Vehicle Speed Sensor signal to ECM and Cruise

I'm about through with messing with these speedo boards, pursuing an aftermarket solution:

http://www.dakotadigital.com/index.cfm/page/ptype=produ ct/product_id=126/category_id=-1/home_id=-1/mode=prod/prd126.htm

I think it will do everything the stock board will do, and a lot more. I hate buying stock clusters at about $65 a pop and canabalizing the board out of it. The Dakota box is about the same price and a GT cluster is spared.

[This message has been edited by jscott1 (edited 03-07-2006).]

IP: Logged
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2006 05:45 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post
ok still nothing

I am using thease wires

T - yellow/black - Ignition power to cluster
M - 4000 pulse per mile buffered VSS (88 only)
P - black/white - ground

Should the speedo work with just thouse wires pluged in ? or are more wires needed ?

IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2006 08:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
Thank You Jon. That's the one I was thinking of
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2006 08:41 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post
Heres the pin out diagram for the 88 fiero speedo
This images is larger than 100K. Click to view.
IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post03-07-2006 02:10 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
BEAUTIFUL !

What kinda money did you guys give for your HUD units ?

Are they something you leave ON all the time, or do they get annoying after a while ?

[This message has been edited by PaulJK (edited 03-07-2006).]

IP: Logged
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-07-2006 11:53 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by PaulJK:

BEAUTIFUL !

What kinda money did you guys give for your HUD units ?

Are they something you leave ON all the time, or do they get annoying after a while ?


I got mine for $20. my brother has one in his grand prix and leaves it on all the time. after like a week of it on you dont even see it unless you want to

IP: Logged
jscott1
Member
Posts: 21676
From: Houston, TX , USA
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score:    (15)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 415
Rate this member

Report this Post03-07-2006 12:43 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jscott1Send a Private Message to jscott1Direct Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by PaulJK:

Are they something you leave ON all the time, or do they get annoying after a while ?

It was kind of annoying at night but I kind of got used to it.


IP: Logged
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-07-2006 03:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post

All working now thanks to jscott1

Because i am using the cavailer dash i had to wire in the fiero speedo board

IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post03-07-2006 07:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
The HUD's I've been running into have been around $100 - guess I'll be doing a little more shopping. Man, I LOVE that Cavalier dash; gues I need to get going to put in the one I have
IP: Logged
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-08-2006 04:14 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by PaulJK:

The HUD's I've been running into have been around $100 - guess I'll be doing a little more shopping. Man, I LOVE that Cavalier dash; gues I need to get going to put in the one I have

I have this great yard areound here thats a pick and pull. I got that dash for $30 i got a Turbo sunbird dash for a friend for $30 95 firbird seats $25 each the hud for $20 (+ a bunch of other little things) 88 fiero coupe bumper $30 88 fiero dash $20 full 88 front supention $75 (friends)

IP: Logged
ig88vsbobafett
Member
Posts: 3446
From: Cheyenne Wyoming
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post03-08-2006 04:20 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ig88vsbobafettClick Here to Email ig88vsbobafettSend a Private Message to ig88vsbobafettDirect Link to This Post
One other thing i did is i cut out the dimmer controls. the tilt is used with a pull wire so if i need to move it all i have to do is pull it from under the dash
IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post03-08-2006 04:36 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
Wow - wish i could get stuff at those kinda prices Unfortunately, southern california is the most expensive third-world country I've ever been in ...
IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post04-15-2006 03:04 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
ig88vsbobafett - what were the final connections ? What color wires on the cavalier dash and HUD did you connect to what color wires on the fiero ? This would be MUCH appreciated . I'll be installing a cavalier dash into my 88 (with cruise control) soon.

[This message has been edited by PaulJK (edited 04-15-2006).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post04-15-2006 07:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
{bump}
IP: Logged
pavo_roddy
Member
Posts: 4348
From: State with a city named Gotham
Registered: Apr 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 71
Rate this member

Report this Post04-16-2006 03:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for pavo_roddySend a Private Message to pavo_roddyDirect Link to This Post
Hi all,

Things that go bump in the night....

------------------
Me, I sell engines, the cars are for free, I need something to crate the engines in....
Enzo Ferrari....

IP: Logged
Quatch
Member
Posts: 54
From: Stafford, Virginia, US
Registered: Apr 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-16-2006 10:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for QuatchClick Here to visit Quatch's HomePageClick Here to Email QuatchSend a Private Message to QuatchDirect Link to This Post
Sorry this may have come up before but what is that gauge cluster out of cause I want one?
IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post04-17-2006 03:54 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
Chevy Cavalier Z24
IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post04-18-2006 02:29 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
{bump}
IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6638
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post04-19-2006 08:47 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
i guess he's not telling
IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock