Started on: 10-16-2004 04:55 PM
Replies: 21
Last post by: ditch on 10-19-2004 03:52 PM
ditch

Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 157
Rate this member

Report this Post10-16-2004 04:55 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ditchSend a Private Message to ditchDirect Link to This Post
Just got my cradle dropped (87 V6 5spd). It was my first cradle drop. I disconnected the connectors to the computer and sent all the wires thru the firewall so I could avoid disconnecting the wiring from the engine. That seemed like the easier way and I think it was. The engine is on my dolly and I rolled it out. 900lb furniture dolly from Lowes, $25 (dimensions are approximately 20 by 30 inches, works great!)

My questions: don't laugh, I'm new at this

1) I want to just wire the fuel pump thru the fuse box and that's it (so no relay). It will then run as long as I have the ignition turned on. Is that a problem? Would it be better to run it thru a relay?

2) I'm not going to put the computer back in so what do you guys use to seal up the big hole left in the firewall where the wiring harness was? (behind center console).

3) I had to sawsall the rear cradle bolts out. Both had the "nut" part turning inside the frame. Even when I wedged it or grabbed it with vice grips, it still turned. I plan on replacing them with bolts and using regular nuts on the ends inside the frame. I know they sell hardened (grade 8) bolts at the hardware store and stainless steel are supposed to be really hard too. Any suggestions on the type/grade of bolts to use?

4) Last one, I'm going with polyurethane cradle bushings all around. The fronts won't be a problem as I'll just burn them out. How do you get the rear ones off? Do I just pry them away from the cradle or are they glued on there?

thanks for any help
Dave

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
avengador1

Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 571
Rate this member