Pulled the Engine, Now What?? by eti engineer
Started on: 11-10-2020 09:15 PM
Replies: 17 (442 views)
Last post by: eti engineer on 11-16-2020 04:06 PM
eti engineer

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-10-2020 09:15 PM Click Here to See the Profile for eti engineerSend a Private Message to eti engineerEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I was in here a few years back, but no I need some information from you all... Good to be back

I finally retired so now I have time to do other projects. Even though I am 70, I am in excellent shape and can do heavy work. I am an high-voltage systems test engineer, so I still get called back to work once in a while as needed.

I have an '88 GT with T-tops in excellent condition and I love it, But after 32 years of being on the road, the car leaks oil badly, mainly from the engine. So two days ago, I removed the whole engine and cradle thanks to someone who posted a step-by-step procedure for doing so. If you are in here, thanks a million!!!! After I built the cradle that he recommended, it was really easy. The engine only has 120,000 on it, and seems to not burn oil, even on start up, but I would bet the valve seals are hard as a rock.

I live in the over-regulated and psychotic state of CA. I would like to get some more hp out of the 2.8 if possible, or replace it, but need to keep the vehicle so it can pass smog. If I am going to have to tear down everything to replace seals and gaskets, I am left with the question of how to proceed. I am sure this question may have been asked before, but what would you do in my case? I am open for all and any suggestions. Money will not be an issue, but I do want to do the work myself. Thanks in advance for any help...

------------------
1988 Fiero, 1962 CJ-5 and more to come...

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Gall757

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 90
Rate this member