4.9 swap issues by AADrcw
Started on: 04-24-2017 05:27 PM
Replies: 16 (549 views)
Last post by: Neils88 on 04-28-2017 11:44 PM
AADrcw

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-24-2017 05:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for AADrcwSend a Private Message to AADrcwEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey everyone, To start out I'm trying to help out a friend with a 88 Fiero he just bought. It has a 4.9 swap and is using an auto (assuming 4t60e but not 100% sure). The car had sat for who knows how long and the body was trashed but the swap looks cleanly done and does run and drive. I have zero experience with the 4.9 swap or the 4.9 at all really.

The harness in it does look well done, all the wire bundles are neatly heat shrinked and cleanly run. I'm not sure who did the harness or the swap, the gentleman he got it from took it in trade. We were told the engine/trans/PCM are from a 93 Deville but I'm not sure how to confirm this. It is a PFI fuel injected engine.

On to the problems.

-The main thing we noticed so far after sorting the brakes out is it doesn't seem to want to shift unless you let off the throttle. It will shift with very light throttle but other then that it will not shift until you let off. This includes wide open throttle as well. If you stab it, it will kick down and go to redline but then it will hit the rev limiter until you let off the gas, once you let off it will proceed to shift.

-Also under heavy throttle it seems to go lean, I have not had a wideband on it to confirm though but it does have that lean smell to it.

-There is a red 2 pin plug that is ziptied to the harness near the alternator, Im not sure if it is a plug that is unused or something we need to sort out. (I can get a picture of this later this afternoon if it helps)