Questions about sbc/f23 engine swap by tim55445
Started on: 01-21-2015 12:43 AM
Replies: 26 (818 views)
Last post by: tim55445 on 01-27-2015 10:59 PM
tim55445

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-21-2015 12:43 AM Click Here to See the Profile for tim55445Send a Private Message to tim55445Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have had an 87 coupe for about 3 years now and since I've got it, I have been wanting to do an engine swap. I currently am a sophomore in college studying Automotive Engineering and I figure that I would like to learn/practice what I am studying by doing a swap, and I also am surrounded by lots of people who have skills and knowledge that I may need to borrow, so I figure that now is a good time to do it. It could also help on a resume.

Recently, I have located one of Archie's economy manual transmission v8 kits at a classic car dealership that a friend of mine works at. Since his boss offered it to me for less than half of what Archie charges for it, I am temped to buy it and start accumulating pieces for an engine swap. Also, my car is an automatic and I would want to switch it over to a manual. Since the f23 is newer (less miles hopefully), claims to be stronger, and is more plentiful that the getrags in fieros; I'm thinking of using this tranny. If I go through with the swap, I would ideally want to have 350 with aluminum heads because I want to keep as much weight out of this swap, as it is a heavy motor to begin with, and I want tpi because I would rather become familiar with a more modern setup than a carburetor. I haven't decided if I want to fully build the engine to what I want it to be and suspend the swap because of the money it takes to build a nice 350, or get a running used motor and put it in so I can enjoy it sooner and then once I can buy the parts I really want for the motor pull it and build it up then.