Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  3800 sc sway mounts and alternator bracket

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
3800 sc sway mounts and alternator bracket by bilidol
Started on: 08-20-2013 11:39 AM
Replies: 11 (359 views)
Last post by: MstangsBware on 08-22-2013 01:32 AM
bilidol
Member
Posts: 22
From: newton, iowa, usa
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 11:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for bilidolSend a Private Message to bilidolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
i have a 86 gt that im putting a 96 riviera 3800 sc in to. ive read a bunch of threads and all say good and bad things about the monting bracket kits. what ones have worked for everyone? also on a side note is their anyone on here that lives in iowa?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
bilidol
Member
Posts: 22
From: newton, iowa, usa
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 11:56 AM Click Here to See the Profile for bilidolSend a Private Message to bilidolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I MENT TO SAY ENGINE MOUNT KITS NOT SWAY MOUNT FOR THE TOPIS.
IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8421
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 01:22 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
"If" I was to do it Again, I would use the ones made from 1/4" plate, urethane bushings, and have 4 Mounting Points, not 3 ! (If you look at all the different Posts, you will see that some of the mounting techniques Use 4 Mounts instead of 2 for the trans and 1 for the front of the engine) If you have the 4th mount on the engine (below the rear window) the engine Cannot "Twist" , so you will most likely Not need a Dog bone. In "Hind site", it's worth the extra $.
IP: Logged
bilidol
Member
Posts: 22
From: newton, iowa, usa
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 02:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for bilidolSend a Private Message to bilidolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
IS THEIR ANY PERTICULAR PLACE TO GET THEM FROM? I KNOW THE GUY ON HERE MAKES THEM OR THE WEST COST FIERO ONES, BUT ARE THEIR ANY OTHERS OR ARE THEY ALL JUST ABOUT THE SAME?
IP: Logged
race9887
Member
Posts: 97
From: Balgonie, Saskatchewan Canada
Registered: Mar 2012


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 03:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for race9887Click Here to Email race9887Send a Private Message to race9887Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I used West Coast Fiero engine mounts on my swap, planning on building a 4th mount on the front side of the engine, I don't like the dog bone up top. The mounts worked good but you do have to be patient with West Coast.

------------------
Our projects

Fieros: 86 SE 3800 Series 2

Build Thread: http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum2/HTML/121858.html

IP: Logged
bilidol
Member
Posts: 22
From: newton, iowa, usa
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 04:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for bilidolSend a Private Message to bilidolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
do you have to modify the brackets at all to do a motor and trany swap? ive read a few that said the holes didnt line up and had to be filled and redrilled?
IP: Logged
MstangsBware
Member
Posts: 11509
From: TEXAS
Registered: Mar 2002


Feedback score:    (108)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 459
Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 05:01 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MstangsBwareClick Here to Email MstangsBwareSend a Private Message to MstangsBwareEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by bilidol:

do you have to modify the brackets at all to do a motor and trany swap? ive read a few that said the holes didnt line up and had to be filled and redrilled?


I have uses all 3 vendors mounts over the 10 awapa I have done. None fit perfect and all where off in some way or another. About the only vendor stil selling mounts these days is WCF. If u order from them then orser way in advance cause u r gonna wait for them. Only other option is making ur own or finding some second hand some one is selling. Low mount just make it urself as that is a simple task that takes common hand tools.
IP: Logged
bilidol
Member
Posts: 22
From: newton, iowa, usa
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-20-2013 05:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for bilidolSend a Private Message to bilidolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
thanks big help! im in no hurry ill e rebuilding the 3800 sc over the next year and a half so i got plenty of time to wait. but that doesnt make it fun. and as far as the lower alternater bracket with the dog bone. who makes thoes?
IP: Logged
bilidol
Member
Posts: 22
From: newton, iowa, usa
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-21-2013 11:04 AM Click Here to See the Profile for bilidolSend a Private Message to bilidolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
does the hi flow fuel pump fromt the fiero store work for the 3800sc motor?
IP: Logged
gtoformula
Member
Posts: 733
From: Double Oak, TX USA
Registered: Feb 2012


Feedback score:    (15)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-21-2013 12:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for gtoformulaClick Here to Email gtoformulaSend a Private Message to gtoformulaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
If you're using a 5 spd Getrag you might want to consider this guy. I bought his trans mounts and they fit very well and are also very strong.
http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum4/HTML/062781.html
IP: Logged
bilidol
Member
Posts: 22
From: newton, iowa, usa
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-21-2013 12:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for bilidolSend a Private Message to bilidolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I HAS JUST GUNNA DO THE STOCK 3800 TRANS.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
MstangsBware
Member
Posts: 11509
From: TEXAS
Registered: Mar 2002


Feedback score:    (108)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 459
Rate this member

Report this Post08-22-2013 01:32 AM Click Here to See the Profile for MstangsBwareClick Here to Email MstangsBwareSend a Private Message to MstangsBwareEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by bilidol:

does the hi flow fuel pump fromt the fiero store work for the 3800sc motor?


Get a AC Delco EP381 off ebay to use...
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock