Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  belt install problem; 87 duke

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
belt install problem; 87 duke by Macarchie
Started on: 08-01-2013 07:22 PM
Replies: 10 (152 views)
Last post by: theogre on 08-03-2013 01:17 AM
Macarchie
Member
Posts: 143
From: Fredericksburg, VA
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 07:22 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MacarchieClick Here to Email MacarchieSend a Private Message to MacarchieEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
what am I doing wrong??? I took off the serpentine belt with no problem. Removed and replaced the AC compressor. Figured I would replace the belt at the same time. Compared the new and old belts; they were identical (i.e. exact same length). Now the new one will not go on.

I fit the belt on the water pump, crank, compressor and alternator. then I put the 15mm socket on it and turn counterclockwise until it stops and the belt will still not slip onto the tensioner. What am I missing here???

- Jimmy

------------------
1987 coupe; Blue; 2.5L; 5spd

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
trotterlg
Member
Posts: 1378
From: WA
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 07:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for trotterlgClick Here to Email trotterlgSend a Private Message to trotterlgEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Does the new AC compressor have the same size pulley as teh old one? Even a tiny bit of difference can hurt you. Larry
IP: Logged
Macarchie
Member
Posts: 143
From: Fredericksburg, VA
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 08:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MacarchieClick Here to Email MacarchieSend a Private Message to MacarchieEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
yep... they're the same. I measured them.

------------------
1987 coupe; Blue; 2.5L; 5spd

IP: Logged
tuggajb
Member
Posts: 74
From: mesa az
Registered: Aug 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 10:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for tuggajbClick Here to Email tuggajbSend a Private Message to tuggajbEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Sounds as if you have routing wrong
Check if matches label on inner fender well
IP: Logged
TopNotch
Member
Posts: 3537
From: Lawrenceville, GA USA
Registered: Feb 2009


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 59
Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 11:01 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TopNotchClick Here to visit TopNotch's HomePageSend a Private Message to TopNotchEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Your new belt may not be EXACTLY the same size as the old one. Belts from different manufacturers that are supposed the be the "right size" sometimes aren't. Try one 1/2" longer than spec, of the same brand as the new one you have.
IP: Logged
David Hambleton
Member
Posts: 1429
From: Stoney Creek Ontario Canada
Registered: Nov 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 11:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for David HambletonClick Here to Email David HambletonSend a Private Message to David HambletonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
On my '87 Duke, the tensioner has a clockwise arrow on it. To slip the belt over the tensioner I rotate it clockwise using a 15mm socket on the bolt head, not counter-clockwise.
IP: Logged
Macarchie
Member
Posts: 143
From: Fredericksburg, VA
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-02-2013 07:59 AM Click Here to See the Profile for MacarchieClick Here to Email MacarchieSend a Private Message to MacarchieEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

thanks for the feedback...

I checked the routing (on mine the diagram is under the decklid.)

My next step is to see if the old belt will go back on. If it doesn't then something else has changed. Since I didn't remove any other components, it should go right back on.

You're right, my bad - Clockwise. I was standing underneath the car with a pull bar on the tensioner. I am turning the tensioner the same direction as the arrow. I have tried to put this belt on from underneath the car and from above (while standing on the lift). I can rotate the tensioner almost 45 degrees which shifts the wheel over an inch. You would think this would be enough.

As you know, there is not much room to play in there, I wonder if the belt may be hanging up on something.

Time to get dirty again.

Thanks, Jimmy

------------------
1987 coupe; Blue; 2.5L; 5spd

IP: Logged
jaskispyder
Member
Posts: 21510
From: Northern MI
Registered: Jun 2002


Feedback score:    (22)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 205
Rate this member

Report this Post08-02-2013 08:29 AM Click Here to See the Profile for jaskispyderSend a Private Message to jaskispyderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
make sure the belt is on the pulleys correctly (does the new compressor have the correct pulley?). If the belt isn't fitting into the grooves (ribs), it may not fit.
IP: Logged
TopNotch
Member
Posts: 3537
From: Lawrenceville, GA USA
Registered: Feb 2009


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 59
Rate this member

Report this Post08-02-2013 09:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for TopNotchClick Here to visit TopNotch's HomePageSend a Private Message to TopNotchEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Count the ribs on your new compressor pulley. I once got an alternator for my 88 duke that looked right, but it had a 5-rib pulley on it, not the required 6-rib pulley.
IP: Logged
Macarchie
Member
Posts: 143
From: Fredericksburg, VA
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-02-2013 12:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MacarchieClick Here to Email MacarchieSend a Private Message to MacarchieEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Done.

I compared the two belts again and the old belt is about 1/2 longer. The old belt (which is still in very good shape) went right on with no problem. I realize how important the right size is. I'll be taking the new belt back to Autozone.

In the last two hours, I have re-installed the starter and exhaust system. Hope to get it running shortly.

Thanks for all the comments.

- Jimmy

------------------
1987 coupe; Blue; 2.5L; 5spd

IP: Logged
theogre
Member
Posts: 29188
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 549
Rate this member

Report this Post08-03-2013 01:17 AM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Do Not force any belt on auto-tension setup! You will wreck the tensioner.
See my Cave, Serpent Belt

Ignore part# list. Use current catalog as a start point. Most makers change the "rubber" and might change their catalog #...

------------------
Dr. Ian Malcolm: Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn't stop to think if they should.
(Jurassic Park)


The Ogre's Fiero Cave (It's also at the top and bottom of every forum page...)

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock