Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  bent thermostat

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
bent thermostat by FIERO 265
Started on: 10-14-2012 08:53 AM
Replies: 16 (792 views)
Last post by: fierosound on 08-05-2013 07:51 PM
FIERO 265
Junior Member
Posts: 3
From: TORONTO
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-14-2012 08:53 AM Click Here to See the Profile for FIERO 265Click Here to Email FIERO 265Send a Private Message to FIERO 265Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hi
I have 87 with a 3800 i put in this year . The problem i am having is the thermostat is bending
in the modified fiero housing
When i warm up the engine at idle the thermostat opens at 180 and runs ok
then once i drive the car some times i find the engine temp does not get to 125f then i check the
thermostat and the extensions on the thermostat are bent .
Looks like there is to much pressure and blows it open when the engine is cold

Thanks Leo
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
theogre
Member
Posts: 29208
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 549
Rate this member

Report this Post10-14-2012 09:48 AM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Heater is blocked or other plumbing issues.
See my Cave, Thermostat

------------------
Dr. Ian Malcolm: Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn't stop to think if they should.
(Jurassic Park)


The Ogre's Fiero Cave (It's also at the top and bottom of every forum page...)

IP: Logged
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10633
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post10-14-2012 01:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Welcome to the Forum! The Fiero uses the heater loop to reduce pressure when the thermostat is closed. Maybe you have a blocked heater core.
IP: Logged
FIERO 265
Junior Member
Posts: 3
From: TORONTO
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-17-2012 05:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FIERO 265Click Here to Email FIERO 265Send a Private Message to FIERO 265Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hi changed heater core and the problem did not go away
I am going to loop or bypass the heater core
all tubes running to heater core looks good
Thanks
Leo
IP: Logged
theogre
Member
Posts: 29208
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 549
Rate this member

Report this Post10-17-2012 05:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Bypass heater and pipes at the engine itself.
IP: Logged
DefEddie
Member
Posts: 1252
From: SALLISAW,OK
Registered: Jul 2009


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-31-2013 08:54 PM Click Here to See the Profile for DefEddieClick Here to Email DefEddieSend a Private Message to DefEddieEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I've had this same problem and have been chalking it up to crappy autozone thermostats.
Happened again today.
Busted the heater hose splice and was leaking,opened cap to top off after fixing and found bent thermostat.

Mine is an all stock 88gt basically.
Looped the heater core till I had time to change out.

I do have a brand new champion radiator,but that is about it.

This has happened 3 times since i've owned the car (3-4yrs/2-3k miles)
With original rad and heater core twice and now once with new radiator and heater core bypassed (under hood,not at housing).
Water pump is new (<100 miles) as well.

What is the actual mechanism of how this is happening?
Almost looks like the thermostat stuck and built pressure to bend it,which would make sense why the plastic splice broke (due to pressure?)

It has NO air issues and the system has been flushed at least twice since i've owned it. No head or lower intake gasket issues.
Thanks for any furthur edumacation on this issue,I never put much thought into it other than crappy parts.
IP: Logged
trotterlg
Member
Posts: 1378
From: WA
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-31-2013 09:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for trotterlgClick Here to Email trotterlgSend a Private Message to trotterlgEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I always drill a 1/4 inch hole in the rim of the thermostat to let a little water bypas it, position the hole at the top when you put it in and it will let a little water and any trapped air flow through the system. Works for me. Larry
IP: Logged
TopNotch
Member
Posts: 3537
From: Lawrenceville, GA USA
Registered: Feb 2009


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 59
Rate this member

Report this Post07-31-2013 09:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TopNotchClick Here to visit TopNotch's HomePageSend a Private Message to TopNotchEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Actually, a 1/16" hole is plenty big enough.
IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14331
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 278
Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 12:21 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by trotterlg:

I always drill a 1/4 inch hole in the rim of the thermostat to let a little water bypas it,


 
quote
Originally posted by TopNotch:

Actually, a 1/16" hole is plenty big enough.


I do a 1/8" hole as a bypass, because with the 3400 block like I have, you have to plug the bypass hole in the timing cover (nothing behind it).


------------------
My World of Wheels Winners (Click on links below)

3.4L Supercharged 87 GT and Super Duty 4 Indy #163

IP: Logged
Tony Kania
Member
Posts: 20794
From: The Inland Northwest
Registered: Dec 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 305
User Banned

Report this Post08-01-2013 12:23 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Tony KaniaSend a Private Message to Tony KaniaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Buy a Stant thermostat. Everything else is garbage. Still drill the hole. So much cheap China crap out there.
IP: Logged
trotterlg
Member
Posts: 1378
From: WA
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 12:32 AM Click Here to See the Profile for trotterlgClick Here to Email trotterlgSend a Private Message to trotterlgEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
+1
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
olejoedad
Member
Posts: 14019
From: Clarendon Twp., MI
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 188
Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 07:22 AM Click Here to See the Profile for olejoedadClick Here to Email olejoedadSend a Private Message to olejoedadEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The water pump doesn't create enough pressure to bend the thermostat.

Check the pressure cap that covers the t-stat housing to be sure the inner rubber cushion rotates freely, if it is frozen in place it will twist the t-stat handle upon tightening, leading to the collapse. The t-stat handle should be slightly below the sealing ring of the housing when properly seated in the housing.

And always buy a Stant t-stat.
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 30189
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 443
Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 01:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Tony Kania:

Buy a Stant thermostat. Everything else is garbage. Still drill the hole. So much cheap China crap out there.


I believe there are two quality levels of Stant thermostats. The cheaper ones might even be made in China.

Spend a couple extra dollars and get the superior one - Stant SuperStat 45819 (195ยบ)
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 30189
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 443
Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 01:41 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by olejoedad:

The water pump doesn't create enough pressure to bend the thermostat.


I don't agree.

Check your thermostat !

IP: Logged
Jefrysuko
Member
Posts: 3482
From: Oreana IL
Registered: Apr 2000


Feedback score:    (17)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 108
Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 04:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JefrysukoSend a Private Message to JefrysukoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Look at the legs of the thermostat. The thermostats I have seen in the past come one of two ways.

Flat steel - cheaper way of manufacturing and usually found on the parts store brand units.

Bent down the length of the leg - this is what the genuine OEM units look like and the Stant units I have bought in the past. That slight bend adds a tremendous amount of stiffness to resist this buckling failure mode.
IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14331
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 278
Rate this member

Report this Post08-05-2013 03:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Patrick:



Just went through trying to find a Stant #45818 thermostat in Calgary.
NOBODY has Stant thermostats - just the MotoRad junk pictured above.
Checked Napa, Auto Value, Parts Source, Canadian Tire.

I think I have to get one shipped up from that States. Probably $30 to ship an $8 part

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 08-05-2013).]

IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14331
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 278
Rate this member

Report this Post08-05-2013 07:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Wohoo!!

A local member had a spare Stant thermostat kicking around.
So I should be good to go.

Thanks Bob.

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 08-06-2013).]

IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock