Click here to visit The FieroStore | View all sponsors
  Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Audi A8 My Fiero (Page 27)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

This topic is 47 pages long:  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47 
Previous Page | Next Page
next newest topic | next oldest topic
Audi A8 My Fiero by engine man
Started on: 06-10-2012 12:09 PM
Replies: 1845 (82225 views)
Last post by: engine man on 12-08-2018 08:03 PM
engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-06-2016 08:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

surprisingly my new clutch ,pressure plate & throw out bearing came in so i should be able to put that all together and put the engine up in the car this weekend and i might even get started on wiring .

[This message has been edited by engine man (edited 04-06-2016).]

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-07-2016 06:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

well the trany is on and it is on the cradle

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-08-2016 02:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

good thing i moved that firewall i only have about a 1/2 inch between the pulley and firewall


[This message has been edited by engine man (edited 04-08-2016).]

IP: Logged

motoracer838
Member

Posts: 3699
From: Edgewater Co. USofA
Registered: Jan 2006


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 83
Rate this member

Report this Post04-08-2016 04:41 PM Click Here to See the Profile for motoracer838Click Here to Email motoracer838Send a Private Message to motoracer838Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

That is tight...

Joe

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-08-2016 05:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

yup it is a tight fit but it is all under the deck lid so no one will know

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-09-2016 03:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

worked on the wiring and i now have the injectors wired to the megasquirt i will wire up the ignition coils tomorrow

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-11-2016 06:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

today i cut away all the wires that i will not need on the old fiero harness as i am putting the megasquirt ecu in the trunk area

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-14-2016 09:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Have any of you tried Extreme tape it is rated to 500 degrees F and it has no glue and you heat it to get it to bond i am going to try it on the wiring harness i am hoping for good results

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-15-2016 10:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

well i tried some of the tape and it work good i will finish putting the harness together and then use it . the only thing i don't like about it is you have to cut off a length of it to be able to wrap the wiring it is hard to use right off the roll but i will take pictures off the harness when done

IP: Logged

doublec4
Member

Posts: 8262
From: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Jun 2003


Feedback score:    (20)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 151
Rate this member

Report this Post04-16-2016 09:14 AM Click Here to See the Profile for doublec4Click Here to Email doublec4Send a Private Message to doublec4Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Where did you buy this "extreme tape"

Any pictures of it?

By the way, great work on the build. I check back periodically... it's going to be quite the beast!

[This message has been edited by doublec4 (edited 04-16-2016).]

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-16-2016 02:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

i bought it on Amazon

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-20-2016 08:15 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

thought i would post a few pictures of the wiring i still need to wirer the TPS and knock sensor and wore power wires and ground wires then i can wrap the harness



IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-22-2016 11:46 AM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Wow I just found this info last night this transmission comes from a Acura Legend it would allow you to do a LS or SBC longitudinal it comes as a 5 speed standard or a 6 speed and a 4 speed slush box as you can see the diff is mounted more like a THM 425 from GM


IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-23-2016 09:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

i just need to wire the knock sensor but i am taking the weekend off but on Monday i will wire that up and should be able to finish the wiring then i will give it a test before wrapping it then put some oil in it and fire it up

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-26-2016 04:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

i have a few ground wires and one power wire left then i can finish wrapping the wires i do like this tape i am using


IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2016 07:22 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Well today was a sad day as my mother passed away at the age of 86 she had Alzheimer for over 10 years she fought hard and passed quick and with little pain due to the great program and nurses to make sure she was not hurting in the end

IP: Logged

Neils88
Member

Posts: 3880
From: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Aug 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 56
Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2016 07:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Neils88Click Here to Email Neils88Send a Private Message to Neils88Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

So sorry to hear about your loss. Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2016 10:45 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Thanks Neils88 i just cant say enough great things about my Mom and I will miss her

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2016 06:08 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

today i tested the megasquirt and wiring the only thing i have wrong is 2 wires on the tps just need to swap the ground and 5 volt positive and i need to run a injector and ignition test

IP: Logged

motoracer838
Member

Posts: 3699
From: Edgewater Co. USofA
Registered: Jan 2006


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 83
Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2016 07:38 PM Click Here to See the Profile for motoracer838Click Here to Email motoracer838Send a Private Message to motoracer838Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by engine man:

Well today was a sad day as my mother passed away at the age of 86 she had Alzheimer for over 10 years she fought hard and passed quick and with little pain due to the great program and nurses to make sure she was not hurting in the end


I lost my grandmother to Alzheimer's a long time ago, it was very painful to watch her slip away, you and your family have my condolences.

Joe

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2016 08:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

motoracer838 it isn't so bad at first when they are just forgetful but in the end when they become like a vegetable and can not talk or move and even getting them to just eat because they don't know how to anymore and they have no clue who you are and don't even know you are in the room with them it makes you sad for them

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2016 06:22 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

well i fixed the 2 wires on the tps and the wiring is done and i put the exhaust on so now i just need to plumb up the fuel lines and coolant lines and vacuum line then add some oil and battery and start it up

IP: Logged

1shot
Member

Posts: 49
From: FL
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2016 09:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 1shotClick Here to Email 1shotSend a Private Message to 1shotEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Mark,
Sorry to hear about your Mom.
Looks like that tape is working well, I may just have to give it a try.
George

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-03-2016 11:57 AM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

thanks 1shot and the tape works really well i would buy it again

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-03-2016 07:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

a few new pictures


IP: Logged

1shot
Member

Posts: 49
From: FL
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2016 12:14 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 1shotClick Here to Email 1shotSend a Private Message to 1shotEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Good call on the header wrap, it makes a pretty good difference in the engine bay. You can actually touch the exhaust with the engine running.

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2016 12:50 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

yep i like the header wrap they had it in many colors bought it on ebay for $15 for 50 ft roll

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2016 12:55 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

has any of you tried this intellitronix digital create a dash kit like on ebay http://www.ebay.com/itm/291...e=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

IP: Logged

wftb
Member

Posts: 3084
From: kincardine,ontario,canada
Registered: Jun 2005


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2016 01:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for wftbClick Here to Email wftbSend a Private Message to wftbEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by engine man:

Wow I just found this info last night this transmission comes from a Acura Legend it would allow you to do a LS or SBC longitudinal it comes as a 5 speed standard or a 6 speed and a 4 speed slush box as you can see the diff is mounted more like a THM 425 from GM




I had no idea the legend had this kind of drivetrain .I always thought they were rear wheel drive . That is really interesting , I found Legends for as cheap as 500.00 on kijijii ontario . Thanks for posting this , I wonder what the whole assembly weighs .

[This message has been edited by wftb (edited 05-04-2016).]

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2016 02:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

i like that it is set up for rear mount starter so the flywheel just needs to be made with the Honda ring gear

[This message has been edited by engine man (edited 05-04-2016).]

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2016 06:08 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

the Acura Legend transmission and differential weighs around 150 Lbs from what i can find

IP: Logged

fieroguru
Member

Posts: 10523
From: Champaign, IL
Registered: Aug 2003


Feedback score:    (44)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 251
Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2016 07:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieroguruSend a Private Message to fieroguruEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by engine man:

i like that it is set up for rear mount starter so the flywheel just needs to be made with the Honda ring gear



I like that the differential could be swapped out with one from another MFG with a more appropriate final drive. Plus it would be rather simple to install a small drive shaft to get it out from under the engine and can flip the diff and use it for an extended wheel base mid engine setup.

Lots of possibilities... All it needs to be even better is for the output shaft from the transmission go out the backside as well for AWD applications.

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2016 08:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

look it can have a shaft on the back side so you could do AWD i think just remove the plug that is next to the bolt they have circled

[This message has been edited by engine man (edited 05-04-2016).]

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-06-2016 09:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Saturday i will be trying to get this to start up and have a video posted if i get it running

IP: Logged

Will
Member

Posts: 12615
From: Where you least expect me
Registered: Jun 2000


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 233
Rate this member

Report this Post05-07-2016 08:05 AM Click Here to See the Profile for WillClick Here to Email WillSend a Private Message to WillEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by engine man:

look it can have a shaft on the back side so you could do AWD i think just remove the plug that is next to the bolt they have circled





Well... you'd have to figure out how to put a diff rather than a spool in that side housing if you were to do AWD.
However, it would be find for use "Lambo Style" with the pulleys to the back, the transmission ahead of the engine and the diff back by the pulleys

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-08-2016 02:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

well did some work on it but dint get it done enough to start and have a few things on order

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-08-2016 06:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

back to work the weekend is over need make some money to spend on the addiction

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-10-2016 08:45 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

? what diameter are the fiero manual transmission cables i have found some 1/4 and 10-32

IP: Logged

engine man
Member

Posts: 4801
From: Lebanon NH
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-11-2016 09:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for engine manClick Here to Email engine manSend a Private Message to engine manEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

well i ordered the 1/4 inch cables so we will see how it works out they where $50 each at 102 long

IP: Logged

1shot
Member

Posts: 49
From: FL
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-12-2016 05:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 1shotClick Here to Email 1shotSend a Private Message to 1shotEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Hope those cables work out for you. If they do, I might have to order some myself. What kind of shifter did you use and was it a 5 or 6 speed?

IP: Logged

Previous Page | Next Page

This topic is 47 pages long:  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47 
next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock