Fiero clutch problems, already read a ton on it by Brendo907
Started on: 07-14-2014 04:31 PM
Replies: 31 (999 views)
Last post by: 2.5 on 08-26-2014 09:15 AM
Brendo907

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-14-2014 04:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Brendo907Send a Private Message to Brendo907Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hello everyone this is my first post here I am just getting into fieros , My friend has an 85 Fiero that from day one the previous owner said it had clutch problems. For awhile we would just bleed some air out of the clutch by moving the clutch arm and it worked good enough to be a daily driver/ ice racer.He is moving and cant take it with him and offered it to me for a really good price and he wants it to go to a good home because its his "race car".
But lately we can bleed all day and get tiny little air bubbles. I have been tearing through forums looking for answers. For starters we have replaced the clutch slave cylinder with the Rodney one and also used the Rodney clutch flex line repair kit. We are beginning to think the master cylinder isnt doing too good. The floor inside isnt damp with fluid nor do we loose fluid over time, air just makes it way in. So we are thinking its an internal leak in the master cylinder. I also beleive it may be the OEM master cylinder in the car, of course im not sure but kinda has that look to it.
At this time we can pump the clutch up and get it into first sometimes, reverse is just grinding so to back it up we start in in reverse and it does lunge. The clutch pedal sits about 3/4 above the brake I think, and we can only get the rod to move about 13/16 of an inch or so