Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
  speedo / instrument cluster question

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
speedo / instrument cluster question by fierofrenzy
Started on: 05-01-2018 07:02 AM
Replies: 4 (137 views)
Last post by: olejoedad on 05-01-2018 11:45 PM
fierofrenzy
Member
Posts: 798
From: Canton, Georgia
Registered: Nov 2006


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2018 07:02 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofrenzyClick Here to Email fierofrenzySend a Private Message to fierofrenzyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey everybody, can somebody accurately answer this question. I just bought an 87 4cyl automatic. It has an aftermarket digital dash that has got to go. I know Fieros had both 85 and 120 MPH speedometers in the cluster. I don't know which had what, and what years and models decided that. I'm assuming the 6 cyl. had the 120 speedo.
My question is this. Can I install the stock 120 unit in my 87 4cyl and have it run accurately ? For that matter , are all dash clusters inter-changeable?
Thx beforehand.....Bob
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
olejoedad
Member
Posts: 14221
From: Clarendon Twp., MI
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 190
Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2018 08:00 AM Click Here to See the Profile for olejoedadClick Here to Email olejoedadSend a Private Message to olejoedadEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes.

What digital dash?

First dibs.
IP: Logged
fierofrenzy
Member
Posts: 798
From: Canton, Georgia
Registered: Nov 2006


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2018 07:49 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofrenzyClick Here to Email fierofrenzySend a Private Message to fierofrenzyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Its Toms Digital unit. See the post a few days back titled "test drove 88 Fiero- need advise please". Theres a photo on there someone posted. The " red " lighted unit is the exact one.
IP: Logged
theogre
Member
Posts: 29475
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 551
Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2018 09:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Should had 85mph speedo and everything bounces light at sides.
Speedo doesn't mater but many V6 had extra gauge pod over center AC and all back lighted and all have V6 tach

if they didn't cut or repin the plugs, find a 85-88 4 cyl set is likely far less work.
May have repin the plugs so need to check each wire goes to whatever pin Before you plug into an OE cluster. If 1 pin is in the wrong place can easily fry 1 part or the whole thing.

some notes you might find handy...
http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum2/HTML/138175.html

------------------
Dr. Ian Malcolm: Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn't stop to think if they should.
(Jurassic Park)


The Ogre's Fiero Cave

IP: Logged
olejoedad
Member
Posts: 14221
From: Clarendon Twp., MI
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 190
Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2018 11:45 PM Click Here to See the Profile for olejoedadClick Here to Email olejoedadSend a Private Message to olejoedadEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Tom's digital gages use the stock connector pinout.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock