AJ's Northstar project by AJxtcman
Started on: 12-12-2006 07:47 AM
Replies: 381
Last post by: AJxtcman on 06-18-2010 12:28 PM
AJxtcman

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-12-2006 07:47 AM Click Here to See the Profile for AJxtcmanSend a Private Message to AJxtcmanDirect Link to This Post
This is a great build
I purchased a 86 fiero in September. I had 2 Northstar engines in the shop. The first is a 1996 - 1999 and had about 5k mile on it, but the block had a bad casting. The other is a 2000 - 2002 disassembled. The 2000 is a better designed engine, but uses a Siemens PCM. The earlier one uses a delco PCM like the LT1 & LS1 from 96 - 99. This PCM is hackable 100%. The Siemens use a different protocol. I am a GM tech and for the last 3 years I have been at a caddy dealer. I repaired the Block on the 99 and built a harness. I had a 2000+ trans and decided not to install a range switch on the outside of the trans, but to use the Internal Mode Switch "IMS". I just had to look at the schematic and connect the wires to the 20 way connector and install a starter relay. Looking at the manuals I have read the description and operation of the PCM, the inputs and output. I have every thing covered. I may reprogram the PCM to an Export that does not use I/M 240 emisions. All I need is a VIN. I just go to a ebay in a different country and get the listed VIN.

[This message has been edited by AJxtcman (edited 03-28-2007).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Deabionni

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 116
Rate this member

Report this Post12-12-2006 08:48 AM Click Here to See the Profile for DeabionniSend a Private Message to DeabionniDirect Link to This Post
AJxtcman

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-12-2006 02:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for AJxtcmanSend a Private Message to AJxtcmanDirect Link to This Post
relocated hinge

[This message has been edited by AJxtcman (edited 12-12-2006).]

AJxtcman

Leave feedback